Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Signal Strenth/Quality

    This is a discussion on Signal Strenth/Quality within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hiya, What is an acceptable signal strength/quality % on a V3 Sky+ box, in good weather? Both my inputs show ...

    1. #1
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Signal Strenth/Quality

      Hiya,

      What is an acceptable signal strength/quality % on a V3 Sky+ box, in good weather? Both my inputs show 50% strength and about 65% quality.

      Slightly got someone's chimney in the way (but not full blockage) but the installer said it was fine. I'm just worried that if I get 50%/65% in good weather, what will I get in bad weather. Can't go higher without putting dish on chimney, which I did suggest but the installer said he can't do it!

      Cable run is about 20m.

      Thanks
      Last edited by ldoodle; 03-06-08 at 06:27 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      Anything below 50% in good weather is poor. Mine both show 90% and it takes very heavy rain to get as low as 50%. Cable runs are about 10 m

    4. #3
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      OK, so what can/should I do?

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      If you have breakup problems in poor weather, and you cannot live with it, then you will have to get the dish repositioned

    6. #5
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      I could do that myself. The current location is flat-mounted to the wall. Could I fix this straight to the chimney via the 4 bolts or would it need to go on a pole?

      More importantly, would Sky moan if I did this?

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      Well if you did it yourself, then this would no doubt invalidate any warrenty. Have a look at the chimney and make sure it is sound, and that you would have a clear view of the sat (if you can hire/borrow a proper meter for this it makes alignment much simpler

    8. #7
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      Yeah thought as much.

      Just been watching the signal level screen for a minute or two, and both inputs are jumping up and down quite a bit, and probably by about 10% or so - very annoying.

      Without tracing back the wire, is there anything I can do to see if it's kinked or bent to much along the run?
      Last edited by ldoodle; 04-06-08 at 09:23 AM.

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      If you decide to shift the dish, replace the cable with Webro WF100. This is nice lowloss foam insulated cable that resists kinks better than air-spaced cable. Use the right sized clips so you do not crush it. I think you can get this in shot gun (two cables together that looks like a shot gun barrel)

    10. #9
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      Is the shotgun cable Sky provide air-spaced then?

      I can get 100m run of foam-filled shotgun cable for ~40 delivered http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/CAPF2100B.html

      Might give this a go first and see if it improves things, or would it be better to get the non-shotgun type and run 2 cables as this might improve things as well.

      Thanks for you help so far!
      Last edited by ldoodle; 04-06-08 at 09:33 AM.

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Signal Strenth/Quality

      I don't know what Sky use, I have never allowed them near my set-up.
      There is nothing wrong with air-spaced cable as such, it's just that foam filled is more resistant to kinks, and deformation in general, so is a better choice if you are not used to running co-ax.
      My own system uses four seperate runs of Radex CT100 cable, this is air-spaced and works fine.
      Shot gun cable is fine and leads to a much neater job (I did not use it because the cables are out of view and I had the CT100 to hand.)
      Last edited by Brian69; 04-06-08 at 09:46 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION