Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Sky tv home network - any ingenious ideas?

This is a discussion on Sky tv home network - any ingenious ideas? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi folks - i'm a newbie so wanted to say hey but with a stonker of a first question for ...

da_vide78 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Sky tv home network - any ingenious ideas?

Hi folks - i'm a newbie so wanted to say hey but with a stonker of a first question for you.

I currently have sky+ in my living room, and used 1 of the RF-out to the bedroom with a magic-eye, and the other RF-out to the kitchen (no magic-eye).
      I'm now converting my garage which will have a TV in there but i want to route Sky to there too without having to register for multiroom.

I want to keep magic eye use in the bedroom (ah hum), would like magic eye in the garage, but would also like a feed to the kitchen.

Can anyone give me any suggestions on how best to achieve this or even ways to get multiroom without paying for it! can i use the dish output and feed it into a powered splitter then into the rooms i want?

Any ideas would be greatly received.

Cheers Dave.

2. Advertisement
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Re: Sky tv home network - any ingenious ideas?

Easy - Feed RF2 out to a suitable distribution amplifier (must be magic eye compatible) and then take a feed from the amplifier to all of your TV sets. You can use a magic eye at each output. The obvious issue which no doubt you understand is that you will only be able to watch one channel at a time in the house.