Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    i can only watch what i record

    This is a discussion on i can only watch what i record within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi everyone, newbie here, hope to get some good advice from this site. The last week or so, my sky ...

    1. #1
      ole1999's Avatar
      ole1999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i can only watch what i record

      Hi everyone, newbie here, hope to get some good advice from this site.

      The last week or so, my sky HD has been playing up, when i record a programme, i am unable to watch anything else, every single channel has 'no signal is being received', the programme being recorded is perfect.

      As soon as i stop the recording, everything is back to normal and i can view as normal, i did have some scaffold up for a few weeks which obviously blocked my signal completely, that is the only thing that has been different regarding my sky etc, plus i have had scaffold up on numerous occasions and its always been perfect once it's come down.

      I have sky+ HD if that helps, any help much appreciated.

      Thank You


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: i can only watch what i record

      Sounds like one of the LNB feeds has become disconnected. Have a look in the appropriate menu and check the signal strength from both LNBs. If one is dead then check your wiring/connectors.


    4. #3
      ole1999's Avatar
      ole1999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i can only watch what i record

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      Sounds like one of the LNB feeds has become disconnected. Have a look in the appropriate menu and check the signal strength from both LNBs. If one is dead then check your wiring/connectors.
      Thanks for replying, what exactly should i be looking for in the menu?
      Thank you

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: i can only watch what i record

      Go into the services menu, system setup, then signal test.

      You should see signal strength and quality graphs for input 1 and input 2.


    6. #5
      ole1999's Avatar
      ole1999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i can only watch what i record

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      Go into the services menu, system setup, then signal test.

      You should see signal strength and quality graphs for input 1 and input 2.
      Hi, Thanks,

      it shows signal strength for input 1 about 3/4
      signal quality for input 1 about 1/2
      lock indicator 'ok'

      input 2 signal strength & signal quality, shows nothing with input 2 lock indicator
      'not locked'

      i have checked both connections, both seem securely connected, does that mean my input 2 cable is faulty?

      Thank you

    7. #6
      Ratcliffes's Avatar
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i can only watch what i record

      First thing I would try (because it is easy) would be to swap the connections on the back of the box. If the problem transfers to input one then at least you have eliminated a problem with the box and the connectors on the box end of the cable.

      Second test would be to swap the cables at the LNB end. Again check to see if Tuner 2 gets the signal and tuner 1 goes dead. If yes then the problem must be with the cable or the connection at the LNB. If no then the problem is probably with the LNB - might it have been knocked by the scaffolding? A replacement LNB isn't expensive but whether you try to DIY will depend on how accurately you think you can realign the dish/LNB. Personally whenever I touch a dish, no matter how gentle I am, it needs realignment.

    8. #7
      ole1999's Avatar
      ole1999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i can only watch what i record

      Thank you

      I will try swapping cables tonight when i get home and get back to you

      Cheers

    9. #8
      ole1999's Avatar
      ole1999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i can only watch what i record

      You was right, the scaffold men had ripped one of the connectors out and just wrapped it around the dish, never even had the decency to tell me.

      Thanks for your help

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION