Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    There is a technical fault with channel error

    This is a discussion on There is a technical fault with channel error within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; The transponders are on the satellite not on the LNB! I think you mean he has a problem with one ...

    1. #11
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      The transponders are on the satellite not on the LNB!
      I think you mean he has a problem with one of the bands (hi or low) or the poles (horizontal or vertical)
      That's what I meant.Doh!!

      the card i am using is for the box, when i put it in my mums box i get that message
      You will get that "this is the wrong viewing card for this box" message when you put your card in your mom's box or any other box that the card IS NOT paired to.(IE,Not your box in your home)You will only get premium channel,(Movies & Sports) on the box that YOUR card is paired to,This is to stop card swapping so you can take your card to a mates house to watch the football if he does'nt have the sports at his house.As I said above.
      As to the message "this is the wrong viewing card for this box" you ony should get that on 'premium' channels like movies & sports if the card you are using was NOT the card that originally was paired with the box you are currenty using.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Endurance26's Avatar
      Endurance26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      Basically all that needs to be done is - phone sky and ask for card to be paired again to your stb.

      After it's paired, then Sky will need to resend the signals to your box.

      All channels should then be received perfectly.

    4. #13
      J3OEF's Avatar
      J3OEF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      I got the sky card paired to box again and still the same problem :s

    5. #14
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      It was never just a pairing issue. A pairing issue would raise a different error on the box.
      What channels are you getting and what channels are you not?

    6. #15
      J3OEF's Avatar
      J3OEF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      off the top of my head i am not getting, all sports channels excluding setanta, the box and few others, sky two, paramount, uktv+ and few others

    7. #16
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      Most channels you mention are hi band horizontal, but so is Setanta. Your not in Eire are you?

    8. #17
      J3OEF's Avatar
      J3OEF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      Nope im in the Uk (bolton) those channels are off top of my head, can egt list if any easier to try work out a problem/solution

    9. #18
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      sounds like a faulty LNB to me.

    10. #19
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      Quote Originally Posted by J3OEF View Post
      Nope im in the Uk (bolton) those channels are off top of my head, can egt list if any easier to try work out a problem/solution
      A better list will help, but at first glance I'm tending to agree with Reddwarfcrew, its sounding like an LNB.

    11. #20
      J3OEF's Avatar
      J3OEF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: There is a technical fault with channel error

      last night, the signal quality and strength went right down, at times i had no channels at all, i had to switch off at mains and back on and that solved it but still im missin the channels as stated previously. Some channels say no signal being received and others techical fault with channel.

      Channels i dont get are below

      Sky Two
      Sky Threee
      UKTV Gold +1
      Paracomedy 1, 2
      Sci Fi
      Sci Fi +1
      E4
      More 4
      More 4 +1
      Hallmark
      E! Entertainment
      Dave +1
      FX
      UKTV Style +1
      UKTV Food +1
      Film 4
      Film 4 +1
      TCM
      Movies4Men
      Movies4Men +1
      The Box
      The Hits
      Kiss
      Smash Hits
      Magic
      Q
      Kerrang
      Sky Sports 1,2,3 & Xtra
      Sky Sports News
      Eurosport UK
      Eurosport 2
      Setanta News
      BBC News
      Paralament
      Fox News
      Discovery +1

      there is a few others but the ones no one watches and basically are crap, also i didnt check but did notice the other day the the radio stations were also not working.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION