Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    not getting setanta

    This is a discussion on not getting setanta within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; update .....sky installer manager called today as prearranged took 5 minutes to totally condem installation took nearly 3 hours to ...

    1. #11
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      update .....sky installer manager called today as prearranged took 5 minutes to totally condem installation took nearly 3 hours to rectifiy problems such as, checking dish allignment, cables outside were rerouted around door porch and telephone wires relaid hiding most cables under skirting boards (small gap between skirting and laminate floor) properly behind fire place etc,tune skybox properly (previous installer switched it on seen that some channels worked and then left) signal strength test now reads 76%, took over 3 hour to do job which originally was done in 45 minutes
      Last edited by nodrog; 30-04-08 at 08:57 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Placehold's Avatar
      Placehold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting setanta

      Setanta isn't sky related. setanta use there own satalite dish so if the rest of your channels are fine then call setanta and get them to rectify there issue

      Regards

      P
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 06-05-08 at 07:43 PM.

    4. #13
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: not getting setanta

      Quote Originally Posted by Placehold View Post
      Setanta isn't sky related
      Setanta uses Sky's EPG and CA. Setanta have their own subscriber management system which connects into Skys NDS CA system.
      Last edited by richone54; 06-05-08 at 11:30 PM. Reason: cleaned up quote box

    5. #14
      Placehold's Avatar
      Placehold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting setanta

      Setanta only use the EPG from sky that you have stated but sky have nothing to do with the viewing system. If you have issues with your Setanta viewing, i.e its blocking and freezing, sky will not and cannot do anything for you if the rest of your channels are uneffected. Setanta have there own technical area.

      Regards

      P
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 06-05-08 at 07:43 PM.

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: not getting setanta

      this is a bit hair spliting, but Sentanta do use Sky's system for broadcast, but they are their own retailer when it comes to subs, so Sky refer all technical enquires to them.
      As with a lot of sat problems on here, it's all down to poor dish installation. I always do my own and would not have a sky installer anywhere near my home.

    7. #16
      Placehold's Avatar
      Placehold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting setanta

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      this is a bit hair spliting,
      Just like the virgin channels on sky we allow them to be shown but they may come from a different source. If there is nothing wrong with your system and you recieve all your sky channels then we can only assume that there is an issue with that one channel and braodcaster, so yes we would refer you back to Setanta

      regards

      P
      Last edited by richone54; 06-05-08 at 11:28 PM. Reason: cleaned up quote

    8. #17
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: not getting setanta

      Quote Originally Posted by Placehold View Post
      Quote above
      We? You speak for Sky?
      If so are you not aware that Sky monitor and support the adaption muxes where the encryption and EPG are added just before the modulation and uplink? Thats for both Setanta and Virgin1 etc.
      Last edited by richone54; 06-05-08 at 11:34 PM. Reason: full quotes not needed when directly above

    9. #18
      Placehold's Avatar
      Placehold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting setanta

      Yes but Setanta are held responsible for that channel as they are a different provider. Its almost so simple its unbelievable. the simpliest way to explain

      A sky veiwing card can recieve any signal from the satelite INCLUDING setanta,the only reason is doesnt is becuase sky only own so much so to stop that happening its encrypted. Sky unencrypt any channel that you pay for including setanta to allow it to be viewed through the sky box, have you not noticed that you dont actually call sky to book setanta on?

      Regards

      P
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 06-05-08 at 07:43 PM.

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: not getting setanta

      Placehold.
      You are missing the point. Just because you refer viewer probs to sentanta does not mean that sky do not have compleat control over the broadcast side of the operation. as I said Sentanta are the retailer for their service and that is why you call and pay them

    11. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: not getting setanta

      Placehold if you work for Sky, I would be very weary of the fact that you could be identified very easily from your prominent links to a personal website. Sky are known to take actions against employees posting on here. If you don't work for Sky, then you won't have an issue.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION