Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    freesat and sky subscription

    This is a discussion on freesat and sky subscription within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; OK, I need sky in my room as freeview doesnt have a strong enough signal. I also dont have a ...

    1. #1
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      freesat and sky subscription

      OK, I need sky in my room as freeview doesnt have a strong enough signal.
      I also dont have a job at this time, and until I get one, would I be able to have Freesat in my room rather than multiroom, while the full sky tv subscription continues in the lounge?
      Last edited by Ryan1992; 02-04-08 at 10:11 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      keith601's Avatar
      keith601 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: quinton
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      Hi There

      I have Sky HD Downstairs and I have used my old Sky Box in the bedroom. I have canceled the subscription to the box upstairs, (this gives a lot of free channels) But I also have the direct link into the box upstairs so that I can watch the full Sky Subscription programs from Downstairs.

      Hope you can understand this.

      Keith

    4. #3
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      so what should I do?

    5. #4
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      I'm pretty sure that Sky would charge you the 99 (I believe) for a freeview set up,the same as they do with everybody else.You may have to get a seperate account in your name.
      If the is already a subscribed STB in your room,just cancle the subsription & ask for freesat.
      Last edited by spike7451; 03-04-08 at 05:52 PM.

    6. #5
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      nope, I dont have that in my room at all
      If I do get freesat, would I be able to eventually upgrade it to multiroom?

    7. #6
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      Yes but you'd need to get a phone line run to it,It's just a upgrade on the Smartcard.(Same as I have the same card in my Sky+ that I did in my normal Sky box,now in the bedroom.

    8. #7
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      Quote Originally Posted by Ryan1992 View Post
      OK, I need sky in my room as freeview doesnt have a strong enough signal.
      Have you thought about using a booster. We live in an area that isn't brilliantly covered but a booster improves the signal enabling us to get quite a few channels but not all of them.

    9. #8
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      its an indoor aerial though, and we tried a booster in the past, which only worsened the signal!

    10. #9
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      An indoor aerial with freeview really isn't going to work. You can get better ones from places like Argos, that is where we got ours and it is in the loft and with a booster we get quite a few channels.

    11. #10
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: freesat and sky subscription

      i can get freeview in my sons room upstairs with an indoor set top type ariel bought from tesco for about 9
      if its sat on his window ledge which points directly to our local transmitter which is 20 miles away we get all channels.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION