Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky in my caravan?

    This is a discussion on Sky in my caravan? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I would like to install sky in our caravan, as most of the time the normal aerial signals are really ...

    1. #1
      belial's Avatar
      belial is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: woodgate
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      in my own house
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky in my caravan?

      I would like to install sky in our caravan, as most of the time the normal aerial signals are really poor, we have sky at home so it's logical to have it in the van. I see other van users with the dish etc, but i was wondering how it gets set up and how the package actually works? and what can be recieved, and above all is it as good as at home?
      anyone...
      NO SATELLITE SIGNAL RECEIVED - AGAIN...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ossie's Avatar
      ossie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thanet
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky in my caravan?

      You take your Sky card with you so its the same as at home. I have received a good signal in Geneva. You can buy a proper kit or go to Maplin for a portable kit in a case. Your Receiver will work with a main inverter in the caravan or on mains if at a campsite.

    4. #3
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky in my caravan?

      Check out Dave Sullivan's excellent web site:
      www.satelliteforcaravans.co.uk

    5. #4
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky in my caravan?

      i use our subsidised multi room box in our static, just bring it back with me every time and plug the phone line in, never had any problems with sky knowing. Fitted the dish my self, dead easy, use the 9volt battery trick if you want box office or call sky.. itv channels the wrong region but all channels are as available as at home.

    6. #5
      belial's Avatar
      belial is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: woodgate
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      in my own house
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky in my caravan?

      Thanks guys, most informative.
      NO SATELLITE SIGNAL RECEIVED - AGAIN...

    7. #6
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky in my caravan?

      Quote Originally Posted by nobby View Post
      i use our subsidised multi room box in our static, just bring it back with me every time and plug the phone line in, never had any problems with sky knowing. Fitted the dish my self, dead easy, use the 9volt battery trick if you want box office or call sky.. itv channels the wrong region but all channels are as available as at home.
      Do a Google search for "King of Sat" (.Org I think....) & you can get all the channel numbers,ect for every single bleedin satellite there!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION