Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    No satellite signal received problem.

    This is a discussion on No satellite signal received problem. within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I'm currently having a problem with the Sky + box. Basically some channels aren't working; such as BBC1, ITV1, ...

    1. #1
      MikeLUFC7's Avatar
      MikeLUFC7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No satellite signal received problem.

      Hi,

      I'm currently having a problem with the Sky + box. Basically some channels aren't working; such as BBC1, ITV1, ITV4, Bravo1, Living1, Setana news and so on. It seems to be channels from the variety package and the freeview channels which I'm having problems with. Now I've tried the box reset and just tried the LNB thing and neither have worked.

      So is the best bet to ring Sky support? Or is there any other checks or ways of solving this problem?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: No satellite signal received problem.

      It may be the LNB only working on one polarisation. We'd need to know which channels are working and which aren't, and especially with BBC/ITV we need to know the Region as some are H and some are V. However my first reaction would be faulty LNB or faulty 13/18 volt switch.

    4. #3
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,205
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: No satellite signal received problem.

      I couldn't receive any channels this morning and originally put it down to issues with the weather as it was snowing quite hard at the time, but come lunchtime I still didn't have any channels so I did reset the box and the channels were back.

    5. #4
      stu4400's Avatar
      stu4400 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No satellite signal received problem.

      I had this problem the other day. I borrowed a spare box off a friend (who now has sky+ and does not need his old box) and all worked ok.

    6. #5
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No satellite signal received problem.

      Please post Manufacturer and model number if you want anything more than general "try unplugging it" type replies.

    7. #6
      LEXCERM's Avatar
      LEXCERM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BBC1/2 pixelating

      Hi there,

      I've got a similar problem regarding signal/transmission issues with BBC1/2 channels (have got an Amstrad SkyDigi Box - silver one).

      Have had Sky for nearly 2 years and never had issues with any channels, let alone BBC. However, over the past couple of weeks I've noticed that the picture seems to pixelate every five minutes or so. It only lasts for about a second or so, but it's getting annoying (live in Hertfordshire).

      Rgds,
      Paul.

    8. #7
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No satellite signal received problem.

      Try unplugging it.

    9. #8
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No satellite signal received problem.

      I've been having the same problem, it started intermittently, but is now permanant. Called Sky last night, they were very helpful, the first person I spoke to led me through resetting the LNB, I had a signal (for 5 minutes) then same problem again. Called again, and an engineer is coming Friday. The box is a white Amstrad box, 9 months old. I'm in Hertfordshire too, is it a local thing?

    10. #9
      LEXCERM's Avatar
      LEXCERM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No satellite signal received problem.

      I contacted Sky earlier today and they informed me that there is a nationwide problem with the reception of the BBC channels i.e. 1,2, News 24, Parliament etc., which they are currently working on.

    11. #10
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: No satellite signal received problem.

      Quote Originally Posted by LEXCERM View Post
      I contacted Sky earlier today and they informed me that there is a nationwide problem with the reception of the BBC channels i.e. 1,2, News 24, Parliament etc., which they are currently working on.
      Don't know who told you that but it sounds like an over eager and likely mis-informed customer service rep - possibly looking to end your call.
      Some BBC channels have changed satellites from Astra 2D to Astra 2A. If your dish has been positioned to maximise 2D reception then you may not be getting enough signal strength from Astra 2A, which sounds like your issue.

      Space on 2D is at a premium as its beam is confined to the UK and it allows channels which only have broadcast rights for the UK to broadcast without having to pay Sky for encryption. The Beeb have been moving channels onto 2A which aren't just restricted by their content to UK only broadcast.
      There is no p in Thomson.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION