Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    menu suggestion for all sky boxes

    This is a discussion on menu suggestion for all sky boxes within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; for those marketing reps eavesdropping on the forum i have a menu suggestion for the sky digibox. can we have ...

    1. #1
      skycaptain's Avatar
      skycaptain is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsland Green
      Broadband ISP: o2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      menu suggestion for all sky boxes

      for those marketing reps eavesdropping on the forum i have a menu suggestion for the sky digibox.



      can we have preview screens in which we can either watch a channel whilst choosing another or watch a preview of a channel when the yellow selection bar stops at a programme listing.

      also kindly reduce the frequency and duration of your adverts, we pay plenty for programming not spamming!
      Last edited by skycaptain; 03-02-08 at 05:20 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: menu suggestion for all sky boxes

      bravo
      i agree
      the current sky epg is outdated and common
      they tried spicing it up by changing the background and changing the music , but yes the anytime format really would spice up the epg, and the proposed new epg for hd boxes only ,i feel should be shared with all the sky customers,

      good show

    4. #3
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: menu suggestion for all sky boxes

      The trouble with the EPG grid is the information on it is only carried on one transponder. Everytime you switch to the grid, the box retunes and then gathers the EPG info and displays it. Theres no TV channels on the EPG transponder, so theres no video to show.
      The only way Sky could do anything like what you describe would be on the PVR type boxes. The EPG could be stored on the hard disk, and then the box could be tuned to any channel whilst still showing the EPG info.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    5. #4
      skycaptain's Avatar
      skycaptain is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsland Green
      Broadband ISP: o2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: menu suggestion for all sky boxes

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      The only way Sky could do anything like what you describe would be on the PVR type boxes.
      thanks for the insight, but how does telewest display content on their boxes which aren't PVR's?

    6. #5
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: menu suggestion for all sky boxes

      Quote Originally Posted by skycaptain View Post
      thanks for the insight, but how does telewest display content on their boxes which aren't PVR's?
      I think digital TV took everyone by surprise, the number of channels available far exceded the expectations of everyone.
      Telewest use the DVB table known as the Event Information Table - (actually four different tables) same as Virgin. These tables are present in all streams. However as the number of channels you have increases the time it takes to gather in the now and next info (now and next info on every channel) or the schedule (actual data for every channel in the next however many days) takes longer and longer.
      Sky use some private tables which allow them to do things quicker and better than the DVB method.
      Telewest have had to limit their epg to three days, Sky have a week.

      I believe the Virgin PVR box uses a disk storage method to provide 7 days worth of EPG.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    7. #6
      Kbramman's Avatar
      Kbramman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dulwich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: menu suggestion for all sky boxes

      Whilst I hate to direct people to another site, Digitalspy did have a story about Sky HD boxes getting an update some time during the year.

      However it does say that it won't be coming to Sky+ boxes.

    8. #7
      Stryka's Avatar
      Stryka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: menu suggestion for all sky boxes

      Quote Originally Posted by Kbramman View Post
      Whilst I hate to direct people to another site, Digitalspy did have a story about Sky HD boxes getting an update some time during the year.

      However it does say that it won't be coming to Sky+ boxes.
      SKY HD boxes will be upgraded this year. will include a new EPG, and video preview.

    9. #8
      mike1976's Avatar
      mike1976 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: menu suggestion for all sky boxes

      I vote that pressing the green button should take you straight into the planner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION