Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Water getting in?

    This is a discussion on Water getting in? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Originally Posted by heatherw_01 I don't really want it over the roof anymore... he is not a very good installer ...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      Quote Originally Posted by heatherw_01 View Post
      I don't really want it over the roof anymore... he is not a very good installer and I don't particulary want him on the roof again

      The cable needs replacing as it will be worn like last time
      You could always push the cable under the bottom row of tiles and out again at the other side, that will avoid drilling holes. It can be awkward getting the cables as the roof space will obviously be very limited near the front and back, assuming dont have a gable at the front and back of course. Also drilling as high up as you can still may not get you into the loft, it wouldn't in my house.

      Is it a terraced house, could you not just run the cable around, you could drop it in the guttering if you have a run from front to back to save an ugly run, as long as the cable doesn't move with the wind and wear through water wont do it any harm so the guttering is a good channel for it to sit in.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      heatherw_01's Avatar
      heatherw_01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Elland (MYELL)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      It is a terraced house, but its a mid terrace so I can't run the cable around.

      There doesn't look to too enough room to drill a hole into the loft either after investigating. The only option is if they could resite the dish onto the chimney. What are the chances of getting them to do that?

    4. #13
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      Get a CAI registered installer or RDI certified.

    5. #14
      heatherw_01's Avatar
      heatherw_01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Elland (MYELL)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      Sky are already going to be coming out though.... can't they do it??

    6. #15
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      I can guarantee that they won't. Their installers get minimal training. I doubt they have any idea how to correctly clip a cable to roof tiles, let alone run it into the loft. And they'll probably say you need a "special heights team" to put a dish on a chimney. And the cable will still be thrown down the roof (not clipped).

      They will simply chuck another cable over the ridge tiles. Cowboys.
      Last edited by Sam Radford; 13-07-08 at 11:47 AM.

    7. #16
      heatherw_01's Avatar
      heatherw_01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Elland (MYELL)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      I just can't face the cable being thrown over the roof for the 3rd time.

    8. #17
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      It's normally quite easy to pass a cable through the soffit (underside of a roof overhang) but Sky installers will tell you that they are not allowed to go in a loft. The only answer is to employ a professional.
      Last edited by Sam Radford; 13-07-08 at 12:11 PM.

    9. #18
      heatherw_01's Avatar
      heatherw_01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Elland (MYELL)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      Well he came, replaced the cable and wrapped it in tape and hoped it wouldn't happen again

      He looked in the loft to see if he could lodge it under a tile, which thankfully he couldn't as I didn't want that.

      He told me that Sky, even special heights don't install on chimneys anymore?? Was he just trying to fob me off as I think he was?

    10. #19
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      Quote Originally Posted by heatherw_01 View Post
      Well he came, replaced the cable and wrapped it in tape
      Brilliant. It should last at least a week longer next time, then.
      The cable has to be *clipped* to prevent movement. Even the worst cowboy aerial installer knows how to do that. And the section going over the ridge should be fed through a thick-wall tube to protect it. It's really not rocket science.

      As I stated previously, you'll have to employ a professional.

    11. #20
      heatherw_01's Avatar
      heatherw_01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Elland (MYELL)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Water getting in?

      And it happened again which it obviously was going to seeing as it wasn't secured.

      They won't come out for free as it is over 1 year since they last came out

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION