Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 30 of 31 FirstFirst ... 2028293031 LastLast
    Results 291 to 300 of 303
    Like Tree7Likes

    Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

    This is a discussion on Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Originally Posted by M74 Ive tried all the codes i think. the instructions for 3 or 4 digit codes dont ...

    1. #291
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Quote Originally Posted by M74 View Post
      Ive tried all the codes i think. the instructions for 3 or 4 digit codes dont seem to work unless im missing something. Maybe its just this oddball blaupunkt tv. Wish i bought a samsung now!
      You may have more luck if you upgrade to the latest version of the remote. Cheaper than buying another TV.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #292
      M74's Avatar
      M74
      M74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Yeah thanks i will try the latest remote. Bit also i dont like the zoom on this 40 inch blaupunkt. The edges always seem to be blanked out so the you cant read writing on sky news etc. And nothing can alter that! I have a 39 inch samsung downstairs which doesnt have this problem. Also was a nightmare to set up with screws etc.
      I recommend to anyone to spend a bit more and get a decent make!

    4. #293
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Check to see on your TV's remote or in the menu to see if you can change the 'Zoom'. On my main TV the best option for me is called 'Screen fit'. The 16:9 option does trim the edges a little. With my older TV the best mode is 'Auto wide'.

      I'll resist commenting on the differences between Blaupunkt and Samsung as I love my two Samsung TVs. Essentially you do get what you pay for, which in your case is a 40" HD TV. Nothing wrong with that.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #294
      M74's Avatar
      M74
      M74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Check to see on your TV's remote or in the menu to see if you can change the 'Zoom'. On my main TV the best option for me is called 'Screen fit'. The 16:9 option does trim the edges a little. With my older TV the best mode is 'Auto wide'.

      I'll resist commenting on the differences between Blaupunkt and Samsung as I love my two Samsung TVs. Essentially you do get what you pay for, which in your case is a 40" HD TV. Nothing wrong with that.
      I can change aspect ratio but edges and text are still blanked out. Wish i could get rid of those black borders! Is there any way to do this or am i stuck with it?

    6. #295
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Ok, not good.

      Could you double check the settings on your Sky STB too please?

      Asuming that you have a Sky+ HD STB and using the Sky remote press <Services> 0 <Down> and ensure that you have selected 16:9 on the picture format options.

      Also take the opportunity to check/change the resolution settings. Check your TV first as not all will show 1080i. You may need to select 720P. 1080i is better if your TV supports it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #296
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Also, consult the tv user manual for a picture setting that mentions something like 'dot by dot' or similar.
      This setting is technically known as 1:1 pixel mapping & is sometimes found in a separate menu called picture size.
      Basically 1:1 means that every pixel coming from the sky box is displayed on screen, having bypassed the tv's own scaler & other processing tech.

      Another common setting which can cause what you're experiencing is called 'overscan'.
      Its purpose is to remove blurry edges but in some cases may crop the picture too much so would be best turned off.

    8. #297
      M74's Avatar
      M74
      M74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Actually that worked. The picture format was set to 4.3. I changed it to 16.9 saved settings and the picture was normal!
      Thanks a lot my friend. I would never have known this otherwise. Cheers!

    9. #298
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Phew! I'm glad that it worked.

      Happy viewing

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #299
      M74's Avatar
      M74
      M74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Phew! I'm glad that it worked.

      Happy viewing
      2134 is the code for the 40 inch Blaupunkt by the way. And you have to cover the front of the sky plus remote when you press tv at the start. Then hold down select and red button till light flashes twice, key in code and then press select to store.
      Voila! it works perfectly!

      But i have problem with my 39 inch samsung. Its annoying to keep having to select hdmi 1 on the orginal remote whenever it is switched on to watch tv. I also have x box plugged in
      Anyway round this? Maybe i have to change connection at back of tv? Thanks.

    11. #300
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      I'm not sure why you are having issues with the Samsung TV. Just in case, there are a few different codes recommended for Samsungs, I use 0840 for both of mine. If the HDMI control is enabled with the Sky STB then pressing either TV Guide, Box Office, Services or Interactive buttons should cause the TV to jump to the correct input.

      If you disable the HDMI control (under Settings -> Picture) then this won't happen.

      The HDMI control was added with R010.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 30 of 31 FirstFirst ... 2028293031 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION