Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 28 of 31 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast
    Results 271 to 280 of 303
    Like Tree7Likes

    Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

    This is a discussion on Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Are you saying that your remote control is NOT controlling your Sky box? If so which of these do you ...

    1. #271
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Are you saying that your remote control is NOT controlling your Sky box?

      If so which of these do you have please:

      a:


      b:


      c:


      d:


      e:


      f:


      g:

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #272
      Funkman's Avatar
      Funkman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      That is correct. My Sky remote is not connecting with my Sky box. I have Option B above as my box. Does that help? Any input is appreciated.

    4. #273
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Try this:
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky/5...tml#post425560
      I know it didn't work for louiy2k but your experience may be different.

    5. #274
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Perfectly timed pick up there seawright, thank you.

      If '1' doesn't work, try 2, 3 or 4.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #275
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If '1' doesn't work, try 2, 3 or 4.
      Only 0-3 are accepted as parameters with select+yellow and select+blue. Additionally select+blue can be reset without entering a number. I have tested this on rev 8 & rev 9 Sky+ HD RCUs.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (27-11-13)

    8. #276
      Funkman's Avatar
      Funkman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Thanks for the effort Seawright, still no joy unfortunately. With regards to your list of commands, the red light flashes twice after step 6 rather than step 7....

      Losing faith in the whole shebang...

    9. #277
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Only 0-3 are accepted as parameters with select+yellow and select+blue. Additionally select+blue can be reset without entering a number. I have tested this on rev 8 & rev 9 Sky+ HD RCUs.
      Thanks seawright, I couldn't recall the codes.

      Quote Originally Posted by Funkman View Post
      Thanks for the effort Seawright, still no joy unfortunately. With regards to your list of commands, the red light flashes twice after step 6 rather than step 7....

      Losing faith in the whole shebang...
      This can be for a couple of reasons, one being that you have been sold a cheap copy. Apparently some cheap copies do not support this feature.

      Now we have established what the problem is (i.e. you have a Sky+ HD remote and a Sky STB) personally I would suggest that you consider one of the following options:


      1. return the remote and get a Sky remote similar to the pic below
      2. consider upgrading to a Sky+ HD STB or a SkyHD STB (more info below)


      Sky remote for the basic digital STB:

      Note the lack of the Play button. You can still get these in the shops or on-line.

      As for upgrading your STB, please do not be frightened by the new boxes supporting HD if you do not have a HD TV. They will work perfectly well on a CRT TV. You will need to connect the SkyHD STB via a Scart lead or purchase the IO-Link from Sky.

      A DRX890 can be purchased for as little as 15 in some shops if you look around (not all areas). I did see a couple of DRX890 STBs for sale in Portsmouth last week for 25 each. Again they will work perfectly well on a CRT TV.

      Whilst the Pace, Samsung and Amstrad DRX780 STBs are now receiving the latest firmware, it doesn't support all the features which the DRX890 or DRX895 supports.

      The DRX890W and DRX895W don't have the UHF tuners built-in so you will have to either stick with the Scart connector or purchase the IO-Link from Sky.

      Whilst you can get all these STBs on-line from sites such as eBay, you tend to pay a lot more for them.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #278
      Funkman's Avatar
      Funkman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Gents. or potentially ladies, appreciate the efforts.

      I remain a little confused. On your post from 23rd Nov at 0956hrs Scubbie, I have the remote control in picture 1. Surely this controls the newly-purchased STB I advised I am working with a few posts ago. Further, I have the original STB that came with the multi-room option, and the same remote that refused to be retuned after the batteries ran down, and yet that is still not working (and these are DEFO compatible)...

    11. #279
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Virgin. Over 500mb.
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,664
      Thanks
      93
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      Is Scubbie only potentially a lady?
      Scubbie likes this.

    12. #280
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

      You stated that you are using this STB:



      This is the Sky STB and not a Sky+ HD or SkyHD STB.

      Whilst it is posibe to programme a genuine Sky+ HD Remote, it appear that you are having issues. Therefore you could replace the remote with one designed specifically for the Sky STB, which is this remote control:




      The alternative option would be to get yourself a Sky+ HD STB like this:


      (500GB DRX890 or DRX890W)

      or like this:


      (1TB/2TB DRX895 or 2TB DRX895W)

      With their respective remotes (DRX895 shown) or one which looks like this, which is what I believe you have:



      The same remote will also control the SkyHD STB:


      Like the Sky STB, this only requires the one feed from your dish, although the others can be set up this way. The SkyHD STB does not have a hard drive and it will not let you access the On Demand or Catch Up TV content. The Sky+ HD STBs would allow you to download the on-line content.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 28 of 31 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION