Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Digital Sender Problems

    This is a discussion on Digital Sender Problems within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello, First time post so thought i would ask something that has been bothering me for a while.... Ive currently ...

    1. #1
      pjd2209's Avatar
      pjd2209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Digital Sender Problems

      Hello,

      First time post so thought i would ask something that has been bothering me for a while....

      Ive currently got the standard Sky Digital Box (NOT Sky+) and a Ferguson AV3030 digital sender.
      Ive connected the Sky bos to the TV as per usual and have plugged the sender directly into the VCR scart socket on the Sky box as per the instructions that came with it.

      This setup, should, i thought mean i can get sky in both rooms with the receiver plugged in upstairs. However, i can get Sky downstairs but only with the sender unplugged and sky upstairs with the sender plugged in NEVER both.

      Can anyone let me know a way of sorting this out (without running hard cables to the other room)as swapping over the Scart lead time and time again is beginning to get on my nerves?

      Any help appreciated (other than telling me to get multiroom, or run a hard cable, or daisy chain a VCR in)

      Thanks guys/girls


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      My sister had one of these from Currys. Each time she turned the digibox on from standby she had to unplug the scart lead and then reconnect it to get it to recognise a signal.

      It went back 2 days later. Can't say I'd recommend it sorry.
      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...







    4. #3
      tubemonster's Avatar
      tubemonster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      My set up worked ok, but it was with a sender/receiver bought from Aldi of all places and it had a scart adaptor that plugged into the tv scart socket and then the actual scart lead plugged into that....sometimes cheap does work!! See if you can still get one.

    5. #4
      pjd2209's Avatar
      pjd2209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      the thing is ive alrady got one and the setup is great other than having to switch scarts over when i want to watch tv upstairs, not a big problem but one that will get annoying with time!

      besides when my wireless broadband kicks in it will have problems anyway so i might have to ditch it,.....

    6. #5
      SKIMBLET's Avatar
      SKIMBLET is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WORLE
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      I got one from Argos, just a cheapy but works perfectly, apart from the wireless router interferes with it so the both cant be used at the same time, other then that not a problem

    7. #6
      pjd2209's Avatar
      pjd2209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      my wireless doent interfere with it all - must just be lucky i guess!

    8. #7
      SLF1976's Avatar
      SLF1976 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by tubemonster View Post
      My set up worked ok, but it was with a sender/receiver bought from Aldi of all places and it had a scart adaptor that plugged into the tv scart socket and then the actual scart lead plugged into that....sometimes cheap does work!! See if you can still get one.
      Hi everybody can i ask a question say i got a sky+ box downstairs and a tv upstairs and i wanna send sky upto it so i buy a digital sender and it says i can use my original sky remote on the tv upstairs can i turn over the SKY channels upstairs or do i have to watch whats on the orginal box downstairs because a few people told me that they cant do that anyhow?

      thanks.

      p.s i new here dunt no if i done this right until i click submit so fingers crossed!

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      Sara,

      as long as you have bought the right digisender and set it up correctly, then YES you can change Sky channels from upstairs.... but you can only ever watch the same channel downstairs and upstairs, not different ones.

    10. #9
      SLF1976's Avatar
      SLF1976 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Sara,

      as long as you have bought the right digisender and set it up correctly, then YES you can change Sky channels from upstairs.... but you can only ever watch the same channel downstairs and upstairs, not different ones.
      hi reddwarfcrew thanks for the reply (again lol) do you know which digisender i might need to do this is ther any u can recommend?

    11. #10
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Digital Sender Problems

      Personally I dont rate them at all. a few years back a tried all the different versions and took them all back.... interference made the picture very poor.

      If you can, put a run of coax cable from the 2nd TV out on the sky box to the 2nd TV and by a Remote Eye to carry the remote commands.

      If you really do want to use a AV sender, then something like this should do the job: Buy DigiSender X2. at Argos.co.uk - Your Online Shop for .

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION