Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Installation question

    This is a discussion on Installation question within the Sky / Sky+ / Sky+ HD forums, part of the Joining or leaving Sky category; Im looking to return to Sky after a few years away. Our dish is on the front of the bungalow ...

    1. #1
      highlander317's Avatar
      highlander317 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Installation question

      Im looking to return to Sky after a few years away. Our dish is on the front of the bungalow about 6 feet up, right over the footpath to the front door. Visitors and deliveries usually hit the dish due to its very poor location.
      Im just wondering would relocating the dish about 2-3 feet around a corner and have the dish on a pole be classed as standard installation? Cables are ok and dish and LNB were replaced days before we cancelled due to poor signal problems which another reason we want the dish lifted over our neighbours well placed bush.

      Hope some one can advise me more than Sky could themselves, I dont want to book a date for installation, pay the 10 then fight to get it back, especially the price of their phone numbers. We need to do the transaction online to get a nice cashback.

      Cheers

      Lee


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Installation question

      Best way, take the existing dish down and remove the cables. That way you will get a new installation with the dish placed to get the best signal.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      highlander317's Avatar
      highlander317 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installation question

      I thought about doing that but sadly back in the warmer climate of summer I painted all the rendering around the bungalow and if I remove the dish it will be a tad obvious, and I got no more paint left.

      Good idea though

      Cheers

    5. #4
      stevek101's Avatar
      stevek101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: here
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      DONT ASK ME!!!!
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installation question

      Quote Originally Posted by highlander317 View Post
      I thought about doing that but sadly back in the warmer climate of summer I painted all the rendering around the bungalow and if I remove the dish it will be a tad obvious, and I got no more paint left.

      Good idea though

      Cheers
      Just remove the dish and pole and leave the bracket on the wall and tell the installation people when they come round u dont want it in the same place no need for paint !!!!!!!

    6. #5
      highlander317's Avatar
      highlander317 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installation question

      What about the three cables coming from the LNB?

    7. #6
      stevek101's Avatar
      stevek101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: here
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      DONT ASK ME!!!!
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installation question

      Quote Originally Posted by highlander317 View Post
      What about the three cables coming from the LNB?
      cut them and tuck under bracket and cut where they end if they painted if not remove them

      they will put new cables in anyway

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION