Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

    This is a discussion on Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please.. within the Sky / Sky+ / Sky+ HD forums, part of the Joining or leaving Sky category; Hi all... I orderd sky hd and it is getting installed on Saturday in my flat The flats all have ...

    1. #1
      igparry's Avatar
      igparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

      Hi all...

      I orderd sky hd and it is getting installed on Saturday in my flat

      The flats all have a sky dish on the side of the lounges on outside wall mine is second floor just one ladder up.

      All the other flats have a single lnb with just the cable into wall for standard sky but mine is a dual lnb and one cable comes into our flat and i dont no were the other cable goes. it looks like the roof or something beacuse the flat above has a dish...?

      Anyway when they come to install the sky will they swap the dual lnb for a quad fit a new coax cable into my wall with the other one and just plug the one thats in the lnb that runs up the wall back into the new lnb which would be easier.

      thanks all

      ian


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      davidmcd88's Avatar
      davidmcd88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01236
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

      Is it a comnial dish that you are currently using? If it is, then sky wouldnt go anywhere near the dish, it would need to be a 3rd party that arranges for a 2nd feed to go to your property....

    4. #3
      igparry's Avatar
      igparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

      I dnt think it is ther 2 other dishs all on side of building which is a house conversion they have one lnb but mine has two and i dnt no wer the wire goes. would he not jus do my hd then plug that other cable back in?

    5. #4
      igparry's Avatar
      igparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

      also what angle do they set the ladders up because where the cable gos into the wall below it on floor is mud n stones then slabs abowt 1 to 2 ft behind woule he just set thmd ladders on a angle behind it

    6. #5
      igparry's Avatar
      igparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

      any one got any ideas it has a quad input btw with 2 wires going into it but only 1 to my flat

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

      If it is a quad LNB with only two wires then it is a standard install and someone else is sharing it. No problems there, Sky will just come and use the sapre outputs if needed. Just remind them it is a standard quad if they ask.

      Also, don't worry about the ladders, they are used to installing and will not have any issues getting the ladders up and have ladder mates to stop them slipping.

    8. #7
      igparry's Avatar
      igparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

      lovley jubley full sky hd coming tomoro thanks to a supr code.

      I just moved into my flat and havent set up a phone line yet i ticked the set one up within 6 weeks option.. do sky check after 6 weeks or just not bother for a 1 box install.

      thanks agen

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky HD getting installed into my flat . couple of questions please..

      do sky check after 6 weeks or just not bother for a 1 box install.
      For a single box they will probably not bother. They actually make more money if you don't have a phone connected and want to order a film or sports event. They add 1 to the cost of each item ordered by phone. Ordering through the box costs you nothing extra.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION