Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

    This is a discussion on Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD? within the Sky / Sky+ / Sky+ HD forums, part of the Joining or leaving Sky category; I am getting rid of Sky so I will have my old dish with no use, I thought about getting ...

    1. #1
      tech3475's Avatar
      tech3475 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      I am getting rid of Sky so I will have my old dish with no use, I thought about getting Freesat HD.

      I already have Freeview in my TV so it would really just be for the iplayer and HD channels but is it worth it?

      Here is the box I am looking at:
      Buy Bush Black Freesat HD Digital Box. at Argos.co.uk - Your Online Shop for .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      The problem with Freesat, is the distinct lack of HD channels. At the moment, there is only BBC HD and ITV HD - both occasionally broadcasting.

      Sky really do have the monopoly on HD channels.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      tech3475's Avatar
      tech3475 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      I know sky has a far better selection....but at a cost which I cannot justify since I dont subscribe to the movies or sports.

      Are there any plans for expansion and what is the selection like? I know about the BBC stuff (e.g. top gear, Life, etc.) but not itv, do they and the BBC stream their sports in HD so I can say e.g. watch the world cup in HD and what other stuff do they broadcast in HD?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      Only you can decide what the value is of Freesat. As for the extra channels it could be worth it. For HD at the moment definitely not.

      As for important games like the FA Cup / World Cup I would have thought it would definitely be broadcast in HD

      HD is definitely the way forward, but how long before more than 2 channels with limited content appear on Freesat? How long is a piece of string?

      If you are leaving Sky to save some money, then I would try and ask cancellations to see if they could offer you a reduced rate or similar.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      tech3475's Avatar
      tech3475 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      The best cancellations could provide is 25% off for 6 months.

      Ok thanks.

    7. #6
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      If you want a decent selection of HD then you have to stay with Sky. Freesat offers the limited BBC HD channel and an almost non-existent ITV HD both of which are available on existing Sky HD boxes without any Sky subscription. If you want C4 HD then that is only available via a Sky HD box with a Sky Viewing Card.

      Don't forget you will have to buy a Freesat HD box and if you also want the PVR (ie Sky+ HD) you will need a quad LNB with at least two downleads. So going the Freesat route might involve quite a bit of expense for very limited results. Your old Sky equipment, after cancelling, will continue to allow you to receive FTA programmes and some FTV programmes that aren't viewable with a Freesat box - exactly what depends upon which Sky box you currently have.

      At the end of the day it's your decision, but it's not a simple one!

    8. #7
      emrobin's Avatar
      emrobin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warboys
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      I miss my 100+ channels of HD from the states.
      Peak usage speed test

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      Quote Originally Posted by emrobin View Post
      I miss my 100+ channels of HD from the states.
      You may have had "100+" channels but I bet they weren't showing 100% original HD material. Despite more and more shows being shot in HD there still isn't that much HD out there to sustain that many channels 24/7. The problem has never been about channels it's been available content.

    10. #9
      emrobin's Avatar
      emrobin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warboys
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is freesat HD a good way of getting HD?

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      You may have had "100+" channels but I bet they weren't showing 100% original HD material. Despite more and more shows being shot in HD there still isn't that much HD out there to sustain that many channels 24/7. The problem has never been about channels it's been available content.
      Maybe not in the UK, but there's definitely shows to support it in the US. Plenty of HD to watch there.
      Peak usage speed test

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION