Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23
    Like Tree5Likes

    Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I suspect that, similar to SR101 & SR102, connecting the OR modem to a specific port causes the external modem ...

    1. #11
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      I suspect that, similar to SR101 & SR102, connecting the OR modem to a specific port causes the external modem to be detected by the Sky Q Hub ER110 and the internal modem to be bypassed.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

      Put the OR modem in the recycling bin...

    4. #13
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Quote Originally Posted by MagicBoy View Post
      Put the OR modem in the recycling bin...
      What's wrong with a "two box solution"?

      Some prefer it!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #14
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

      What's the benefit? It's not required.

      /Awaits internet myths.

    6. #15
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

      The main benefit of having a separate modem is that router can be rebooted without disturbing the modem connection to the dslam. With the all-in-one solution, every time the router is rebooted it also reboots the modem. Frequent rebooting of all-in-ones over a few minutes, as has been seen by many a customer trying to achieve some objective, can upset DLM leading to detrimental results on the speed front. But you knew that, right?
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    7. #16
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

      Yup. The ISP side kit thinks the line is unstable.

      I'm also not an idiot.

      The SR102 has needed a reboot twice in 10 months (to clear an Xbox live issue) so I've never experienced speed problems. 39999/9999 solid since day one.

    8. #17
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

      Fair enough. But plenty of people have suffered as a result of doing frequent rapid reboots. Just because it's not required to have a separate modem when using an all-in-one doesn't mean that it's wrong to continue to do so.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    9. #18
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

      I never said it was wrong, rather unneccessary.

      I'll be happy with the Q hub because I can get rid of two extra boxes - a gig switch and a 5GHz AP.
      Sebby likes this.

    10. #19
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

      Well at least the wifi is much improved on the ER110. But having long ago improved the SR101's poor wifi by using separate kit, I can't justify buying the Sky Q Hub now.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    11. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband UK Finally Offers Sky Q Hub Router to Existing Customers

      There's nothing silly about it. What speedyrite has said is true enough. It's advice that many won't be worried about though.

      Personally there are several things which I have changed on the router I use to run my LAN and being able to periodically reboot it without upsetting my connection is one thing I don't have to worry about. This may include adding a reserved address for something or adding another site to the blocked list.

      At the same time most Sky customer tend not to play with their router settings, so won't be worried about this advice.

      Also there are some reports that the BTO DLM software is a lot more tolerant of router reboots now, so it isn't such a problem that it used to be and you can possibly get away with rebooting the SR102 or Q Hub a couple of times without causing a problem.

      There is a drawback with using the BTO Modem. I can't see my full connection stats. Sometimes it would be nice, but they simply aren't available to me.

      Unfortunately too my connection reset a couple of times in the past week. My connection speed dropped from the full 80mb and is currently showing 73,332kbps. I have no idea why this happened. I'm still on an IPv4 connection and it happened during the night, so shouldn't have been the result of a BTO Engineer working in the cabinet.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION