Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20
    Like Tree2Likes

    Faulty Q Hub

    This is a discussion on Faulty Q Hub within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew I work for the UKs No 1 company in a certain industry (major ftse 100) and ...

    1. #11
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,037
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      I work for the UKs No 1 company in a certain industry (major ftse 100) and they removed business lines in 2014 to reduce costs and homeworkers have to rely on work mobiles to make calls and home broadband to access the network. They are happy to take the risk on any downtime and if it happened would expect staff to visit an office.

      My Sky has gone down twice I think and I've had to rely on tethering to a MiFi device (which fortunately work pay for).
      Well yes, they have a plan and accept the risks
      Been there too, done that.
      Not had my sky down for any long period of time over many years 'touch wood' that I would have been in that situation! But then its pretty easy these days to go find alternative wifi very easily and free.
      Last edited by lettice; 10-03-16 at 12:15 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Quick update: I've had it confirmed that currently there isn't a recovery tool available for the Q Hub.

      I have asked, but it is now late on Friday, about when such a tool may become available. In the original response there was no news of the timeframe but only to say that they would let us know when it is available.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Further update: Due to the way in which the Q Hub is designed, a recovery tool is not going to be required.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #14
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Further update: Due to the way in which the Q Hub is designed, a recovery tool is not going to be required.
      If a recovery tool is not required how do you resurrect a bricked Sky Q Hub caused by a failed firmware update, due to power failure for instance.
      Last edited by seawright; 11-03-16 at 07:16 PM.

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      If a recovery tool is not required how do resurrect a bricked Sky Q Hub caused by a failed firmware update, due to power failure for instance.
      There is a built-in backup.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      seawright (11-03-16)

    8. #16
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,037
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      If a recovery tool is not required how do resurrect a bricked Sky Q Hub caused by a failed firmware update, due to power failure for instance.
      Never even knew there was a recovery tool.
      Just thought resetting the hub, the 10 second press trick was the default way to reset the firmware.
      Not ever heard of anyone bricking a hub.
      But then sky would just put one in the post overnight. So you would only be perhaps a day without a working one.
      I've got loads of old sky routers in a draw (some not even opened), some sent when I really never needed them.
      Also acquired some too for trials.

    9. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Understandably you and I have at least one spare router. Admittedly I'd be a little stuck though if the BTO Modem died though.

      As for 'overnight' Sky tends to use a service which takes 2-3 days. This isn't going to help many people, especially anyone who has just joined Sky.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #18
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      They do use next day delivery if pushed.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      As for 'overnight' Sky tends to use a service which takes 2-3 days. This isn't going to help many people, especially anyone who has just joined Sky.
      Scubbie likes this.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    11. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Ok, not very often then.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #20
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,037
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Faulty Q Hub

      Just thought I would provide an update, the sky q hub (for sky+hd and broadband, no sky q here) they sent me as part of my yearly renegotiated 12 months sky tv/phone/broadband deal got delivered next day. They did mention 2-3 days delivery.
      It was sent via Unipart.
      The tracking info was excellent, via a mysky online tracking link and a few updating emails, including one in the morning to say it was being delivered that day. Went via royal mail.

      Just one thing in the long tracking list, that made me think was the phrase 'Outward RDC Volumetric Acceptance', but luckily at the same time it said arrived at National Distribution Centre.
      Scubbie likes this.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION