Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Devices connected to your home network

    This is a discussion on Devices connected to your home network within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey, On the Sky Router web gui, why does it show some devices as UNKNOWN? I have 12 devices currently ...

    1. #1
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Devices connected to your home network

      Hey,

      On the Sky Router web gui, why does it show some devices as UNKNOWN? I have 12 devices currently connected and half of them are UNKNOWN. Based on process of elimination, the UNKNOWNs are Windows PCs/laptops.

      All devices are set to DHCP (things like NAS boxes and network printers are reserved IPs). I can ping all the devices listed as UNKNOWN by computer name between devices.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Devices connected to your home network

      I need to update my details as I don't have the SR101 anymore. It's:

      Systems Details help
      Manufacturer Sky
      Model SR102
      Firmware Version 2.88.1086.R
      DSL Firmware Version A2pv6F039m.d24m

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Devices connected to your home network

      Mine is much the same. At times everything will be named correctly, as in the Address Reservation list, but more often there are several Unknowns. The strange thing is when I plug in a PC I haven't connected for months, it remembers the name, but it regularly 'forgets' the PC I use daily.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      373
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Devices connected to your home network

      Or maybe it's scroats hacking in to your router!!! DANNN DER ANNN DAN DAN

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Devices connected to your home network

      This is an old issue.

      I'm not sure how Sky are reading the information of what's connected, but it simply doesn't always pick up the name of everything connect when such names exist.

      If you want to be sure that what is connected should be, you could assign an IP Address to your devices on the router. Check the MAC Address of each known device first, then look through the list of devices to ensure you know which is which.

      As for assigning numbers, choose something other than .2 or .3 as these would automatically be assigned to any new device connected.

      So, for example, if you phone were assigned an IP Address 192.168.0.50, with your laptop on .51, then you'd know that they were Ok. Anything connected at 192.168.0.2 would need to be checked.

      IP Address Reservation

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,036
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Devices connected to your home network

      Do remember when we beta tested the sr102 and bets formware that we always asked this question about 'UNKNOWN' devices, Sky never really dealt with the questions we had.
      But, many routers do the same, so its not specific to sky routers, its more to do with how the device is advertising itself.
      Generally devices like sling boxes and some jailbroken and rooted devices do not correctly pass over their device name.
      For a PC, you may find that if it is set as being on a public network and not a home/private network it will show as UNKNOWN.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Devices connected to your home network

      If you use the Netgear Genie app you'll find that it is far more successful at identifying the names of connected devices than the Sky Hubs are.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      rayvinloon's Avatar
      rayvinloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portsmouth North
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Devices connected to your home network

      I have the same problem with android phones, my chromebook, cabled devices in fact more stuff is unknown than known and it also says somethings are cabled when they are wireless , when I briefly flirted with talk talk their router recognised everything

    10. #9
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Devices connected to your home network

      Sky branded sagem 2504n routers report sky+HD box connections as 'unknown' too.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION