Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Router now resets every night

    This is a discussion on Router now resets every night within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; First I had the problem of my router dropping out more or less at the same time every night at ...

    1. #1
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router now resets every night

      First I had the problem of my router dropping out more or less at the same time every night at 12.30am.

      Now it's resetting itself every single night at the same time

      This is crazy!

      Can anyone spread any light on this, I mean why am I losing connection every single night at the same time? And now I have to keep logging into the router and set up all the settings again and turn off wifi.

      I can only suspect foul play and that someone is logging into my router, what other reasonable explanation can there be? If the router equipment was at fault then surely it would drop out during the day, and certainly NOT at the same EXACT time every night!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      If it is resetting and not just resyncing then there may be a problem with your router. Do you have a spare to try?

      Can you update your Profile please as you are obviously not with another ISP?


      I have closed your other post as it is a duplicate of this one. Please do not post twice on the same subject.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      I have an SR102 which I bought from Sky which is absolutely useless and worse than the sagem. I haven't used it since.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      Do you mean you are still using the Sagem?

      If you are, what AV are you using?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      Yes I am still using the Sagem. I bought the SR102, set it up, and the connection just dropped out on average once an hour, so I switched back to the Sagem.

      I am using Avast AV. I have a Mac, but I was using Avira AV before, and Escan before that as I have tried different AVs to see if that was causing the drop outs, (obviously one AV at at a time)

    7. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      Just wondering if the timing has anything to do with DHCP lease expiry.
      Could you switch your router off at midnight (or before) so that it is unable to obtain a new lease and leave it off overnight?

      Switch it back on the following morning then wait to see if it reverts to the midnight plus thirty reset or changes to a different routine.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      wolfiebrian (14-09-15)

    9. #7
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      AAaah thank you seawright, that makes sense, as I stated it can't possibly be the router, otherwise like I said it would be dropping throughout the day and not just ONCE and at the SAME time.

      Is there anything I can do about the DHCP lease expiry, i.e. make certain changes on the router or in my network connection settings on the Mac?

      Is it a fault that is easily rectified if it a DHCP issue?

    10. #8
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      I'd accept that path on the 102 seawright, but the Sagem appears to only reset at 00:30.

      Are any devices still running at the time the router resets, for one night, switch all PC's/Macs off, turn of all mobiles, in fact, disconnect the LAN cable from the router last thing at night. In the morning see if has reset, if not then you can isolate things on the next night, no wifi or no LAN and so on.

      Does sound suspiciously like Isitme's Avast issue though...
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    11. #9
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      Nothing you can do about DHCP, that's Sky. 3600 seconds, every hour, at least on Fibre, I assume it's the same on ADSL... doesn't matter what the modem is.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    12. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Router now resets every night

      I don't think the lease time on ADSL is 1 hour, more like 24 hours. Unfortunately it does not show in the router Log and I doubt if Sky's customer facing would know anything about it. My main problem with the log is it sends out Time requests every 2 hours. This means the log quickly fill up and the most I have seen it show is the last 6 days. As Marjohn says if you turn off your router overnight before the reset, if it is a lease problem, if nothing else it should change the time of the reset.

      The Sagem/Avast problem is confined to the latest firmware, ie, IPv6 compatibility. Although you are convinced it is not the problem it would do harm to disable the Home Network Security for a while and see if that helps, espacially if you have the latest firmware.

      One thing that worries me, is you say the router is resetting, that means all your personal settings are wiped. If this is the case there may be some deeper problem with the router which cannot be tolerated, even if you save your settings so you can return them easily. If all else fails, I would advise putting the SR102 back on line and see how that performs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION