Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

SR102....anything similar to BT parental controls?

This is a discussion on SR102....anything similar to BT parental controls? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Newbie here wondering if anyone can help. I do miss the easy parental controls that I had with BT . ...

RM955i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01327
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

SR102....anything similar to BT parental controls?

Newbie here wondering if anyone can help.

I do miss the easy parental controls that I had with BT. Simply put, I could select any wi-fi connected device from the menu and set when it was or wasn't allowed wi-fi access. This was perfect for 'killing' wi-fi to my daughter's various devices at given times.

Is anything similar available for the Sky router? I have been into the admin page via the IP address and there's nothing I can see (it's either all wi-fi on or off, no individual device control)

2. Advertisement
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks

Re: SR102....anything similar to BT parental controls?

The free Sky Broadband Shield service was updated the other week to now include a watershed feature allowing you to set up times during which services are available.

The SR102 does also have a scheduler allowing you to set the times you wish it to allow traffic and services via its firewall. Can't imagine it would be too difficult to set up a firewall rule for a particular internal IP addy to block access at specific times.

RM955i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01327
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited