Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

    This is a discussion on TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey All, I decided to replace my SR101 Sky Hub for something else with gigabit ports that wouldn't 'break the ...

    1. #1
      mjh74's Avatar
      mjh74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beaumont
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      Hey All,

      I decided to replace my SR101 Sky Hub for something else with gigabit ports that wouldn't 'break the bank'. I grabbed the key from my old router, entered all details into the W8980 and connected first time. Superb! Well, not quite superb... Both up and down sync speeds have dropped a bit. With the old Sky Hub, my downstream was 20191, upstream 1184. With this router downstream is 16980 and upstream 1032. I have flashed the latest firmware and nothing has really changed. Am I to accept that this is due to the Lantiq based chipset not playing nicely with Broadcom, or is there something I could "tweak" to gain some speed back?


      Current details are:

      Basic Status

      Device Information

      Firmware Version:0.6.0 1.7 v000e.0 Build 140701 Rel.41204n

      Hardware Version:TD-W8980 v1 00000000

      System Up Time:0 day(s) 00:29:09

      DSL

      Line Status:Connected

      DSL Modulation Type:ADSL_2plus

      Annex Type:Annex A/L

      Upstream Downstream
      Current Rate (Kbps) 1032 16980
      Max Rate (Kbps) 1032 17052
      SNR Margin (dB) 7.1 3.1
      Line Attenuation (dB) 13 26.6
      Errors (Pkts) 0 0


      TIA,

      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      Hi Mark and welcome to the forum.
      Did you make a note of the previous stats?
      If so and the downstream SNR margin was less than 7.1dBs it maybe that your speed has been reduced in response to errors generated while setting up the new router.
      If that is the case then the speed may recover over the next few weeks.
      Was it only the router you changed or did you change the DSL cable or microfilters at the same time?

    4. #3
      mjh74's Avatar
      mjh74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beaumont
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      Hello Seawright and thank you!

      Funnily I took a screen shot of my old router stats a couple of weeks ago (can't remember why!)

      My Upstream then was 1191kbps and Noise Margin 8.8dB

      A strange thing happened at the time. My downstream had gone up to 20981kbps (was usually around 18xxxkbps) but my Noise Margin was sat at 0.3db!!
      The router had always been rock solid but I was amazed that it had held the connection at 0.3db for over a month! I'm assuming that something had changed at the exchange which is why I 'think' I took the screen shot. I used to be on what looked like a 6dB profile but after rebooting, I reconnected at 19xxxkbps at 3dB. So I was hoping for something like 18xxxkbps or more from this new router.

      It is only the router that I've changed. I have an adslnation filter face plate on the master socket which the router is plugged straight into via a good quality RJ11 cable.


      Thanks for reading!

      Mark

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      I would leave it to see if the background DLM improves the connection speed but if you haven't got the patience or find the speed too slow for your requirements you could call Sky broadband tech and explain you have made improvements to your telephone wiring (don't say you have replaced your router) and ask if they can restart DLM training on your line.

    6. #5
      mjh74's Avatar
      mjh74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beaumont
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      OK seawright, I'll give it a month or two and see how it goes. Thank you for your advice!

    7. #6
      andy3665's Avatar
      andy3665 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      How did you get your N600 to work with SKY? mine shows all the line stats but won't connect

    8. #7
      aaronenabs's Avatar
      aaronenabs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: TP Link - TD-W8980
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2016
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      Quote Originally Posted by andy3665 View Post
      How did you get your N600 to work with SKY? mine shows all the line stats but won't connect
      I am new to this guys and I am struggling to setup my TD-W8980. I managed to get my sky username and password using wireshark but when I connect with the details the DSL does not connect.

      Somehelp

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      Quote Originally Posted by aaronenabs View Post
      I am new to this guys and I am struggling to setup my TD-W8980. I managed to get my sky username and password using wireshark but when I connect with the details the DSL does not connect.

      Somehelp
      Are you on ADSL or Fibre? On ADSL you will require the following settings-

      Username and password
      Encapsulation.... PPPoA
      VPI...............0
      VCI..............38
      Multiplex......VC-MUX.
      MTU............1500

      If you are on Fibre you will need to connect to a BTO Modem through the WAN port. You will also have to ensure the firmware supports Option 61.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      aaronenabs's Avatar
      aaronenabs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: TP Link - TD-W8980
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2016
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Are you on ADSL or Fibre? On ADSL you will require the following settings-

      Username and password
      Encapsulation.... PPPoA
      VPI...............0
      VCI..............38
      Multiplex......VC-MUX.
      MTU............1500

      If you are on Fibre you will need to connect to a BTO Modem through the WAN port. You will also have to ensure the firmware supports Option 61.
      Hi - I am using Sky Fibre and with the standard Black sky router, I tried it with the setting as suggested but this did not seem to work. How can i get the BTO modem, I thought it would be a simple plug and play with the TP link on sky but I have spent my whole weekend trying to work it out.

    11. #10
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: TP-LINK TD-W8980 N600 performance questions

      I suspect you are going to be wasting your time. AFAIK the TPLink W8980 does not support WAN DHCP Option61, this is an absolute requirement for use with Sky fibre. There is no DD-WRT firmware for it either.

      The only way you will get this to work is to DMZ the existing Sky Modem/Router to the TPLInk. This will be a double NAT and can cause problems but for most people it does not. Isitme has posted a number of messages on setting up 3rd party routers in this way.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION