Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20
    Like Tree1Likes

    Turning the SR102 into a modem only

    This is a discussion on Turning the SR102 into a modem only within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by pete.i I might be missing something here but all I did was remove my BTO modem and ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Quote Originally Posted by pete.i View Post
      I might be missing something here but all I did was remove my BTO modem and connected the SR102 directly to my line and that picked up the fibre. I then turned off the wireless on the SR102 and bridged my TP link router to the SR102. .................................................. ................................. using the SR102 as a modem seems a lot simpler than what has been explained in this thread, to me anyway unless, as I say, I am missing something.
      That is by far the simplest way to connect an extra router, but it may suffer from double NAT problems with some applications. VoIP being one example http://www.nextiva.com/support/what-is-double-nat.html Setting up a VPN can also run into problems with double NAT. If you don't use these or have to access your network from the internet, then you have little to worry about.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      376
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Thanks for that Tom. I don't use any of that stuff. I'm just a bog standard home user. Glad I wasn't being daft with that question. From the OP I just couldn't see why it had to be that complicated. If the Op is using all that stuff then he would have to faff around I suppose.

    4. #13
      IceGuyver's Avatar
      IceGuyver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Location
      North Lanarkshire
      Posts
      177
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I have to disagree with the video in selecting 192.168.0.2 as the address of the 2nd router. That is not a good idea. The chances are you will already have that address in use on your Sky router and plugging in the 2nd router will immediately throw up an IP conflict. It is far better selecting a high number 200 or 250 or such, as recommended in the articles on this forum in the first two threads in Asking for help
      So other that than. The method described in the youtube video is pretty sound and useable?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Yes, although I think Scubbies instructions, although not as flashy, is more comprehensive.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      376
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      I used scubbie's written word. I couldn't follow that YouTube thing. Same with using Wireshark. That's a complicated enough program as it is. Someone needs to write the instructions down to obtain your user name and password from Sky routers. (Please)

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Thanks. That guide was put together with much help and testing before it was posted.

      As for the instructions to get the login details from the Sky Routeres, asked and answered earlier today:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...hub-sr102.html

      There are various threads on the forum detailing the SR101 and SR102 method and a couple that refer to all the rest. The post above gives a link to two known threads that deal well with both.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      splatts's Avatar
      splatts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Good afternoon, newbie here.

      I've been faffing about with my Sky broadband connection for a few weeks now. Like many others, the wifi range is appalling. It's range is about 4 metres.

      I purchased a cheap TP-Link router with my plan being to extract the username & password, however Wireshark didn't seem to do it (maybe I was following a guide for a different Sky router than the SR102).

      I then decided to try bridge (not sure if that's the right term. I basically wanted to use the Sky router as a modem only) the two together.

      I connected the Sky router to the TP-Link via ethernet, disabled wifi on the Sky router, and disabled DHCP on the TP-Link. However this didn't improve the wifi strength at all.

      I gave up with that and thought perhaps the cheap TP-Link was rubbish, so I swapped it for a better Netgear N300. I did exactly the same as above, but again the wifi didn't improve at all.

      Am I doing something wrong?

    9. #18
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Which model TP Link did you purchase?

      I'm afraid the n300 is not going to give you much of a boost wifi wise either.

      You need to be looking for an AC wireless router/modem or access point.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    10. #19
      splatts's Avatar
      splatts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Which model TP Link did you purchase?

      I'm afraid the n300 is not going to give you much of a boost wifi wise either.

      You need to be looking for an AC wireless router/modem or access point.
      It was a TP-Link N300 but I now have the Netgear N300.

      Could you explain what an AC router is?

      By access point I'm guessing it means to set up the Netgear as an access point & connect it to the SR100 either by ethernet or homeplugs?

      I may try the access point option. I'm just not sure if my Google Chromecast would connect to it (probably the wrong forum to bring this up in).

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Turning the SR102 into a modem only

      Could you explain what an AC router is?
      What Is 802.11ac and Will It Make My Wi-Fi Faster?

      For full advantage you will need AC adapters.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION