Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 22 of 35 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast
    Results 211 to 220 of 343
    Like Tree44Likes

    Sky Router Firmware

    This is a discussion on Sky Router Firmware within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; you didnt need to find it I already told you, but it seems you didnt trust my information....

    1. #211
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      you didnt need to find it I already told you, but it seems you didnt trust my information.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #212
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,038
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Has anyone ever used the recovery tool, which is obsolete now for the new sky q router, they have this feature built in.
      I'm sure if customer support wanted you to do a recovery this way they would take you through it. Not sure they would though, easier to just hit a button and get a new router sent out to the customer
      Not sure its really a good idea promoting this recovery tool procedure for a normal user to do.
      It has always described what you need to do anyway with the sky recovery tool help pages that has been linked on this first router page for ages.
      'Follow the on screen instructions'.
      https://www.sky.com/help/articles/do...-recovery-tool

    4. #213
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      I only used it as the suggestion is the older the firmware the higher priority it would to be updated which does have some logic to it, but I then only allowed it one night to update before realising I didnt need to do it so its back in its box now still on the recovery firmware.

      I do find it a bit odd tho, if sky trust their users to run the recovery tool then surely they should trust them to do upwards flashes from the interface which should be a less risky process than recovery flashes.

    5. #214
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,038
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      New firmware for my Sky Q hub ER110

      Firmware Version 2.01.1850.R
      DSL Firmware VersionA2pv6F039m1.d24m

      Noticed in the router stats from Maintenance>Show statistics we have a new line now along with WAN,LAN,WLAN (2.4 GHz), WLAN (5 GHz);

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      PLC Disable 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00

      A new menu has appeared;

      Sky Router Firmware-powerline-600-x-281-.jpg
      Angel_Rex likes this.

    6. #215
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Thank you lettice. I was just reading a thread elsewhere and both of you have received the update today and both reporting the new feature.

      Hopefully the next update for the Q TV boxes isn't too far away and PowerLine support may resolve a few other issues.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #216
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,038
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Another change I have noticed with today's Sky q Hub ER110 firmware update is under Wireless>5 GHz Wireless Settings

      Desired channel now has these options to choose;
      80 Mhz ch.36
      40 Mhz ch.36
      40 Mhz ch.44

      The help on that page says;
      Select the channel width for your 5GHz Wi-Fi network. If you change this setting, it will be updated on all Sky Q products on your network. We recommend that this is set to 80MHz ch.36 unless you are instructed to change it by Sky
      Scubbie likes this.

    8. #217
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      That's excellent news lettice. Quite a few people have been complaining about not being able to change the WiFi channel.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #218
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      415
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      SR101 updated firmware at 01:29 today.

      Manufacturer Sky

      Model SR101
      New Firmware Version 3.48.1140.R (previous update was 22/07/2016 to 3.46.1135.R)
      DSL Firmware (unknown, not on ADSL)
      Angel_Rex and Scubbie like this.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to speedyrite For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (18-11-16)

    11. #219
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,038
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Have seen quite a number more people being sent the ER115 router lately with their Sky Q order.
      Some have been sent both the ER110 and ER115 together, assume that was a mistake.
      One thing that has been mentioned is that powerline is not showing in the firmware for the ER115. As it has an external power supply its been stated that the Sky Q powerline (when it arrives) cannot work with the ER115 due to its external power supply.

      The latest firmware version for the ER115 released in November is;
      Firmware Version 2.01.1812.R
      DSL Firmware VersionA2pv6F039m1.d24m

    12. #220
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Thank you this lettice.

      Yes I've become aware that some Sky customers are now receiving the ER115 instead of the ER110. The message is a little confusing though as no one appears to know why.

      As for PowerLine support, I've left the table alone for the present time as it appears that the ER115 doesn't support the PowerLine functionality. However it may do.

      The developers are still working to resolve a few kinks in the PowerLine functionality for Sky Q. Until these are resolved we are unlikely to get a definitive answer.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 22 of 35 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION