Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 13 of 35 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast
    Results 121 to 130 of 343
    Like Tree44Likes

    Sky Router Firmware

    This is a discussion on Sky Router Firmware within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; still with the old one with my SR102 here...

    1. #121
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      still with the old one with my SR102 here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #122
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      OK, not happy. Had the new firmware and ever since I get lots of random disconnects. Has been happening since the update :/ anyone else?
      Do you have the router shown in your Profile? If you do, then Avast is your problem. I beta tested the new firmware for this router and found that Avast constantly rebooted/resync the router at odd times. As I run the Pro version of Avast I asked them for help. Their advice, use different firmware or get a new router. Sky's reply use a different AV. At the time this happened I told Sky it could come back to bite them if nothing was done, as there are still a great number of these routers still in use.

      The problem seems to be with the Home Security shield in the software. In the meantime if you disable this Shield the problem will probably go away. Ultimately you would be better using a different AV or change your router for one of the Hubs, which are not effected. I will be dropping Avast when my subscription expires as I was not happy with their replies to my problem, they did little or nothing to help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #123
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      I have the fibre SR102 and the free avast anti virus.

      I'll uninstall it later and related install something else

    5. #124
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Double post :/

    6. #125
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      I have the fibre SR102 and the free avast anti virus.

      I'll uninstall it later and related install something else
      If you have a Hub you should not have the Avast/Sagem problem. I have no problem with mine.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #126
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      Rebooted twice this afternoon :/

    8. #127
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      My original SR102 from the beta test did not receive the firmware update (was still on 2.1r.3727.R) and had developed a fault with the WiFi (devices looking like they were connected, but no interne) - having recently cancelled tv, I wasn't hopeful of a free replacement, so bought a second-hand one on eBay for 6 quid. That arrived with 2.1r.3727.R, but was plugged in for 36 hours and hey-presto 2.88.1086.R installed last night! (WiFi issue fixed too with this router). 

    9. #128
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      hi guys,

      was just looking things - usual disconnect last night around 04am but guess what? I got the new firmware for my SR102:

      Firmware Version 2.88.1086.R
      DSL Firmware VersionA2pv6F039m.d24m

      anything I should be testing? speed and ping seems the same, there's a bunch of new menus, etc... BTW can I set custom DNS like open DNS now?

      thanks,
      Gab

    10. #129
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      You still can't select the DNS you want, but there is a better selection of DDNS servers available. Most of the changes are to accommodate IPv6, but there is also a few stability fixes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #130
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware

      I get the impression that Sky are still in the process of upgrading their equipment to IP6 in exchanges and only then once that's done, do they start rolling out the newest SR102 router firmware. Spoken to a few people & neighbours round here on both Sky fibre and ADSL2+ using SR102's and no-one appears to have got the new SR102 router firmware yet.

      I also don't understand why Sky are also been so cagey and secretive about it either as no-one at Sky will give you a straight answer as to why only certain people are getting the SR102 firmware updates and others aren't?

     

     
    Page 13 of 35 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION