Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

    This is a discussion on Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I want to test comodo firewall without the skyhub router getting in the way, what do i need to do?...

    1. #1
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange Too Far----- street cab 80 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      297
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      I want to test comodo firewall without the skyhub router getting in the way, what do i need to do?
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      If you put the device's address in the DMZ of the SR102 it should by-pass the router firewall.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange Too Far----- street cab 80 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      297
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      Does that mean my IP address.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      No the network address of the PC you are testing the firewall on, eg, 192.168.0.2.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange Too Far----- street cab 80 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      297
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      My lan port shows 192.168.0.1 as default address
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      That is the address of the router, you want the address of the PC you are using. You can find this on the Attached devices list in the router settings, or open a Command Prompt and type ipconfig, hit Enter. You will see the PC's address listed against IPv4 Address under the adapter heading. The Gateway address will be 192.168.0.1.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange Too Far----- street cab 80 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      297
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      Ok thanks all done.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      Please remember that the router firewall is far more efficient than any software program. You should remove your PC from the DMZ as soon as your testing is complete.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange Too Far----- street cab 80 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      297
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Please remember that the router firewall is far more efficient than any software program. You should remove your PC from the DMZ as soon as your testing is complete.

      Should the DMZ checkbox be left unticked, its unticked at the minute with a zero in each of the 4 boxes on the right.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can i turn off router side in sky hub 102- to test software firewall?

      Quote Originally Posted by B J View Post
      Should the DMZ checkbox be left unticked, its unticked at the minute with a zero in each of the 4 boxes on the right.
      If it is unticked it is disabled, so it does not matter what is in the address boxes. 4 zeroes would be the default setting.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION