Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 68
    Like Tree3Likes

    Extract username and password from sr102

    This is a discussion on Extract username and password from sr102 within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; If an RJ45 (8pin) to RJ11 (4 pin ?) adapter is required, what are the pin connections? On the RJ45 ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      If an RJ45 (8pin) to RJ11 (4 pin ?) adapter is required, what are the pin connections? On the RJ45 side its:
      What's the point, other than to experiment? Plug an ethernet cable, RJ45 both ends, into an ethernet port on the Hub and plug the other end into your PC. That's all that's required.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      swinster's Avatar
      swinster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      Yes - this was my original question - there is no Ethernet port on the WAN side, only the ADSL 4 pin port. On the LAN side there is the 4 Ethernet ports on the combined switch.

      I am not sure if I understand your comments, but are you saying that you should be able to sniff the WAN DHCP request by plugging into a LAN Ethernet port?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      In a word, yes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      swinster's Avatar
      swinster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      Perfect

    6. #15
      swinster's Avatar
      swinster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      Well, to my surprise this method does indeed work. I am a little amazed that the DHCP requests for the WAN side can be seen on the LAN side, and it does against my understanding of a router config, but there you go. Many thanks for this.

    7. #16
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      Quote Originally Posted by swinster View Post
      Well, to my surprise this method does indeed work. I am a little amazed that the DHCP requests for the WAN side can be seen on the LAN side, and it does against my understanding of a router config, but there you go. Many thanks for this.
      It's because it looks for the openreach modem on one of the ports and when it finds skys network reassigns it as a WAN port.

      It's probably only an internal VLAN that seperates them anway, it is on a lot of SOHO kit.

      Also you CANNOT plug the DSL/VDSL modem into an ethernet port, best case is nothing will happen, worst case is you'll break something.

      You'd need a DSLAM/MSAN for it to sync with if you wanted to connect to it on the DSL interface.

    8. #17
      PartWelsh's Avatar
      PartWelsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claregalway, IE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      Hi all,

      I'm keen to switch out my SR102 for my ASUS DSL N66U, but no matter which way around I try the troubleshooting suggested here, and in the SR101 thread, I seem to be coming up empty. I decided to sign up and post my setup/steps in case anyone can point at any of what I've been doing and tell me it's wrong.

      Sky Modem - SR102 (Square black box, combined modem and router)
      Internet Connection -
      DSL (10 Mb - average download speed of 225 kb/s)
      Location -
      Ireland
      Operating System
      - Win7
      Cables - Grey DSL cable (internet) connected into the filtered phone socket, 1 Ethernet cable plugged into PC <-> One of the empty four WAN ports on the SR102

      Step 1-
      Downloaded and Installed Wireshark
      Step 2 - Configured Wireshark to monitor my LAN Socket Interface on the PC (Wired into one the four otherwise empty WAN sockets on the SR102)
      Step 3 - Logged into the Sky Router admin page and rebooted the device
      Step 4 - Returned to Wireshark and started capturing packet
      Step 5 - Waited for 2-3 minutes and let it capture as many packets as is appropriate
      Step 6 - Filtered " udp.port == 67 " or " udp.port == 68 "
      Step 7 - Observed multiple filtered DHCP events for 'DHCP Request' , 'DHCP ACK' , 'DHCP Inform'

      The Issue

      As is indicated in every thread, response, and YouTube comment that I've read on this, I'm not seeing any of the 'DHCP Discover' events that I should be.

      I've attempted numerous other methods for this, such as the SR101 approach (where I had removed the grey DSL cable from the back of the SR102, changed the network adapter settings to use a static IP), but no amount of combinations of any of the suggested methods appear to yield the same results.

      The Question

      Is there something basic that I am not doing, that I should be?
      Is there something basic that I am doing, that I shouldn't be?
      Should I configure my setup differently in order to see the Discover events?

      Any advice/further troubleshooting anyone can point me at would be immensely appreciated. I was wrongly informed during sign up for Sky Broadband that I would be able to use my own equipment with the line, and Customer Service have offered that if I can't sort it myself, I'm within my rights to cancel at any time. Keen to see if I can get it working though rather than go down the route of moving to a different ISP.

      Cheers!

    9. #18
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      Since Sky now allow the use of 3rd party modems on their DSL (But not Fibre/FTTC) I would have hoped that as you are a DSL customer you could simply get the required information from Sky themselves.

      It also might be worth trying PPPoA on VCI 0 VPI 38 with the username install@o2broadband.co.uk

      This might work as they enabled it on some of their exchanges to support the migration of the o2 customers to the Sky network

    10. #19
      PartWelsh's Avatar
      PartWelsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claregalway, IE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      How recent is that change for sky to allow 3rd party modems? I spoke to them two weeks ago and was straight up told by their Tech and Customer Care teams that they don't have access to the Usernames/passwords to use 3rd party equipment to give them to me, but encouraged me to pursue the 'google it' route

      Will give the O2 stuff a go though, thanks for the recommendation.

    11. #20
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Extract username and password from sr102

      Quote Originally Posted by PartWelsh View Post
      How recent is that change for sky to allow 3rd party modems? I spoke to them two weeks ago and was straight up told by their Tech and Customer Care teams that they don't have access to the Usernames/passwords to use 3rd party equipment to give them to me, but encouraged me to pursue the 'google it' route

      Will give the O2 stuff a go though, thanks for the recommendation.
      About the time they announced Sky broadband Pro, which was sometime after they bought O2.

     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION