Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

    This is a discussion on Issues with SR102 LAN sockets? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Any ideas what this means in my SR102 routers logs: I'm also seeing a small number of collision packets as ...

    1. #1
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

      Any ideas what this means in my SR102 routers logs:

      I'm also seeing a small number of collision packets as well (though I had that from day 1)

      Jan 8 16:26:50 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 8 23:29:12 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 9 00:28:38 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 9 00:29:41 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 9 05:16:38 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 9 05:22:39 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 9 06:22:19 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 9 06:23:22 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 9 12:21:48 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 9 23:41:47 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 00:41:28 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 00:42:32 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 05:14:46 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 05:23:25 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 06:23:31 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 06:24:34 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 12:22:15 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 22:11:56 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 23:11:39 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 23:12:43 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 11 11:36:53 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 11 11:41:05 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 11 11:42:54 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 11 11:45:03 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 11 12:35:17 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 11 17:22:20 syslog: eth0 (switch port: 3) Link DOWN.
      Jan 11 17:22:24 syslog: eth3 (switch port: 2) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

      Quote Originally Posted by James_Mitchell View Post
      Any ideas what this means in my SR102 routers logs:

      I'm also seeing a small number of collision packets as well (though I had that from day 1)

      Jan 8 16:26:50 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 8 23:29:12 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 9 00:28:38 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 9 00:29:41 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 9 05:16:38 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 9 05:22:39 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 9 06:22:19 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 9 06:23:22 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 9 12:21:48 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 9 23:41:47 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 00:41:28 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 00:42:32 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 05:14:46 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 05:23:25 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 06:23:31 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 06:24:34 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 12:22:15 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 22:11:56 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 10 23:11:39 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 10 23:12:43 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 11 11:36:53 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 11 11:41:05 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 11 11:42:54 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 11 11:45:03 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jan 11 12:35:17 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 11 17:22:20 syslog: eth0 (switch port: 3) Link DOWN.
      Jan 11 17:22:24 syslog: eth3 (switch port: 2) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Faulty cable?

      It's all the same port except the last two.

    4. #3
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

      I swapped the cable for those last two. Will try another Ethernet cable and see what happens, thanks

    5. #4
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

      Quote Originally Posted by James_Mitchell View Post
      I swapped the cable for those last two. Will try another Ethernet cable and see what happens, thanks
      Otherwise it will be a problem with the ethernet device you are connecting to the port.

    6. #5
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

      Does anyone know which port is which on the Sky SR102 hub? I cannot work out how the Sky logs port number system work?

      I'm currently using the bottom 3. Top one is empty, next one down is the TV (not Smart, just used for firmware updates), next down is my Samsung HD box, bottom one goes to another switch upstairs which has other multiple devices plugged into it.

      I've changed the Ethernet cable between the bottom socket and the the one going to the wall socket i installed, which is the one going upstairs to another wall socket which has a switch connected to it up there, as that ethernet cable didn't look very clear as it was twisted near one end and so far everything seems OK. Fingers crossed, that may have solved this
      Last edited by James_Mitchell; 12-01-14 at 01:28 PM.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

      The LAN port at the bottom is Port 1.

      The only way I can identify this is by looking at the WAN port details on my SR101.

      It used to matter which port was plugged into what at one point on the older routers, but with the current firmwares it shouldn't any more and with the SR101 and SR102 it never has.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

      Does this look familiar?

      ----------------
      Jun 4 11:30:43 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 13:30:31 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 13:30:35 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 13:31:05 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 13:31:07 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 15:30:54 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 15:30:59 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 15:31:29 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 15:31:31 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 17:31:18 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 17:31:20 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 17:31:21 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 17:31:22 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 17:31:53 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 17:31:54 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 19:31:42 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 19:31:44 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 19:31:45 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 19:31:46 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jun 4 19:32:16 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link DOWN.
      Jun 4 19:32:18 syslog: eth2 (switch port: 1) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

      ----------------

      This is an extract from one of my logs during beta testing, I also had a switch plugged into port 1. If this continues try swapping ports 1 and 2.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Issues with SR102 LAN sockets?

      Interesting the problem seems to occur at 2 hour intervals. Does that suggest anything?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION