Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Unknown device in attached devices.

    This is a discussion on Unknown device in attached devices. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, My new shiny Sky hub arrived yesterday. Looking through the attached devices page I find 2 unknowns. One is ...

    1. #1
      prestonradar's Avatar
      prestonradar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: castleford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      West Riding
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Unknown device in attached devices.

      Hi,
      My new shiny Sky hub arrived yesterday. Looking through the attached devices page I find 2 unknowns.
      One is the TP-Link SamKnows router. But the other is made by Wistron NeWeb Corp. It shares the same IP address as SKY+HD.
      Is it the wifi hardware in my Sky+HD box?
      Regards.
      Old MIG15 pilot.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Unknown device in attached devices.

      Yes, its the Sky box. Some will show twice if you are using a plug in wifi adapter. Once for the wifi adapter and once for the ethernet port its plugged into. Can be a bit confusing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      prestonradar (10-01-14)

    5. #3
      prestonradar's Avatar
      prestonradar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: castleford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      West Riding
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Unknown device in attached devices.

      Thanks Tom. All the pointers were that it was the Sky+HD box but it is reassuring to hear that it is.
      The only reason I asked was that Windows kept nagging me that I had 2 devices with the same IP address and it could cause conflictions.
      Cheers.
      Last edited by prestonradar; 10-01-14 at 05:06 PM. Reason: engaging brain before typing.
      Old MIG15 pilot.

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Unknown device in attached devices.

      If it has a MAC address starting 60:02:B4 it definitely is. If it hasn't it probably still is. There is nothing to stop you giving it a different address in the Address reservation list if you want to. It might stop the nagging

      Sometimes I wish I could give SWMBO a different address.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      prestonradar (10-01-14)

    8. #5
      prestonradar's Avatar
      prestonradar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: castleford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      West Riding
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Unknown device in attached devices.

      Yes it has so it definitely is.

      As for SWMBO I don't have her permission to answer that.
      Old MIG15 pilot.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION