Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Packet loss is not working and highish ping

    This is a discussion on Packet loss is not working and highish ping within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, i was wondering if anyone could help me lower my ping. I have sky hub black edition. Although my ...

    1. #1
      bend's Avatar
      bend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Hub
      Router: sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      Hello, i was wondering if anyone could help me lower my ping. I have sky hub black edition. Although my packet loss is not recognized in cmd and other websites.

      Regards,

      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bend's Avatar
      bend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Hub
      Router: sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      Manufacturer Sky
      Model SR102
      Firmware Version 2.1m.3173.R
      DSL Firmware VersionA2pv6F038m.d24j

      Modem

      help
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed5019
      UpStream Connection Speed798
      VPI0
      VCI38

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      What do you mean by packet loss not being recognised? Do you think you have packet loss?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      bend's Avatar
      bend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Hub
      Router: sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      yes and highish ping

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      Run the following in a Command Prompt and post the results-
      ping bbc.co.uk -n 200

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      bend's Avatar
      bend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Hub
      Router: sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      sent= 200 lost= 0

      minimum 26ms maxium 176 ms

      average 30ms

      - - - Updated - - -

      So its the ping not the packet loss

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      30ms is not too bad for ADSL, for Fibre you would expect single figures to mid teens. Sky use Interleave not Fast path on ADSL which causes a higher ping.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      bend's Avatar
      bend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Hub
      Router: sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      Oh what is the best TCP optimiser settings for gaming ?

    10. #9
      bend's Avatar
      bend is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Hub
      Router: sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet loss is not working and highish ping

      thread closed [ ]

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION