Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Setting up new Sky Hub - any tweaks I should know?

    This is a discussion on Setting up new Sky Hub - any tweaks I should know? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Duplicate post....

    1. #11
      Claremac's Avatar
      Claremac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01737
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Setting up new Sky Hub - any tweaks I should know?

      Duplicate post.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Claremac's Avatar
      Claremac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01737
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Setting up new Sky Hub - any tweaks I should know?

      Ordered mine on 30th December but never got a confirmation email. Delivered yesterday (6th Jan).

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Setting up new Sky Hub - any tweaks I should know?

      Quote Originally Posted by Claremac View Post
      My shiny new black hub has arrived from the free offer and I have set it up. It is in the same place as the old router, up high on a shelf and plugged in to the main socket. I have set it up on Channel 1 as that has no other usage around here at the moment. Is there anything else I should be doing? For example the Mode setting has 5 choices - 54g, 54g performance, 54g LRS, 802.11b Only and Auto. It was set on Auto and I have left it at that but are any of the other settings better? Just like to get the best speed/coverage I can manage.
      As has been mentioned already, leave the WiFi speed on Auto and the encryption on WPA2.

      You can change the SSID (Wireless name) and Password if you wish. Personally I recommend it as the default password is 8 capital letters. The SSID can be anything you like, s long as it isn't rude. I don't recommend using identifiable names either, such as you home name/number. The password should simply something easy to type and read off for people who are likely to need it. The choice of upper or lowercase letters and numbers is entirely yours.

      Position wise, place the router where ever it can perform the best and provide a good WiFi signal, whilst close to the Master Socket and accessible should you need physical access to it.

      As for the WiFi channel - I was a part of the beta group for the SR101, on which the SR102 is mostly based. I placed the channel on "Auto" and had no issues with it where I am despite there being lots of WiFi routers around. Tom, who was on the SR102 beta group, prefers to manually set the WiFi channel.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #14
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange Too Far----- street cab 80 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      297
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Setting up new Sky Hub - any tweaks I should know?

      Just been deliverd by postman 12.30pm so parcelforce info was wrong.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    6. #15
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange Too Far----- street cab 80 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      297
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Setting up new Sky Hub - any tweaks I should know?

      Just set the router up, there is a reset button but not a on/off button, does the reset set it back to defaults?, where as my DG934 could turn on/off and still keep the settings.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Setting up new Sky Hub - any tweaks I should know?

      does the reset set it back to defaults?
      Yes, to power it down you need to switch at the wall or pull the plug.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION