Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Unknown connection

    This is a discussion on Unknown connection within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have just got a sr101 sky hub and I used WPS to connect my phones, laptop, tablet and sky ...

    1. #1
      Henhead's Avatar
      Henhead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holyhead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD Box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Unknown connection

      I have just got a sr101 sky hub and I used WPS to connect my phones, laptop, tablet and sky box.

      I have a sd501 wireless connector mini on my sky box, upstairs is that what is coming up as unknown on the list?

      I only have 2 sky+ boxes by the way

      All the other connections I can pin point but not that one.

      Also on the laptop when I log into the router and go through the settings pages I get a 404 error but clears on refresh, I seems to happen on nearly all page changes, my normal browsing seems to be unaffected???

      Unknown connection-skytrouter.jpg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Unknown connection

      At this stage there is nothing to worry about. Essentially the router doesn't pick up on the names of each device.

      Click on this link: http://192.168.0.1/sky_attached_devices.html

      It will take you to the full list of attached devices with their respective IP & MAC addresses. You may be able to identify the item from there.

      From the above list I can tell that you not only have 2x Sky+ HD STBs, but also 3x Android devices and 1 PC or Laptop. By a process of elimination you should be able to tell what the missing item is. It has connected via the WiFi. It might be the Wireless device for you 2nd Sky+ HD STB. It's MAC Address will be printed on the underside.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Henhead's Avatar
      Henhead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holyhead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD Box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Unknown connection

      It is my adapter on sky box, when I follow you link it shows them both on same ip address

      Unknown connection-skyrouter.jpg

      it was not 404 i was getting but 400 bad request, I changed the channel to 1 instead of auto, I am still getting that problem. Any ideas?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Unknown connection

      Sorry I missed the error 400 bit.

      Looking that up it appears to be a corruption of some kind.

      400 Bad Request - 400 Bad Request Error Message Displays in Browser Window - 400 Error

      If you are getting the error on more than one site it could possibly be something on the device you are using. Could I ask you to perform a full virus scan? Also check with anti-malware too, just in case.

      As for the channel number, personally I found leaving it on 'Auto' worked well for me with the SR101. If you suspect an issue, use inSSIDer to see which is the best channel but you may have to change it due to hidden traffic. Stick with channels 1, 6, 11 or 13 if possible as these cause the least interference with neighbouring channels.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Unknown connection

      It has been discovered recently that Sky's new mini adapter can cause 2 connections to be shown. It is thought this is one for the wireless side and one for the ethernet side connected to the box. This may be what is happening.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Henhead's Avatar
      Henhead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holyhead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD Box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Unknown connection

      Yeah it was the mini adapter as they are on same ip, I unplugged the adapter and they both the unknown and sky HD+ instances disappeared

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION