Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Hub/ Sky Wifi Adaptor.

    This is a discussion on Sky Hub/ Sky Wifi Adaptor. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, I have just received my Sr101 from Sky and want to swop things around abit. My router is ...

    1. #1
      holski's Avatar
      holski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Torquay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Torquay
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Hub/ Sky Wifi Adaptor.

      Hi all,
      I have just received my Sr101 from Sky and want to swop things around abit. My router is currently connected to my PC on the third floor and I have a Sky Wifi Connector plugged into my HD box on the ground floor. which works well, but the wifi signal bar in the HD Box menu sits at about just over half. To improve this I want to connect the router to the HD box and plug the Wifi connecter to my PC. Is this a straightforward plug and play task or do I have to change settings? I have looked at Home plugs and repeaters, but want to try this first.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub/ Sky Wifi Adaptor.

      The router should, whenever possible, be connected to the master socket. Is this where you intend to put it?

      With regards using the wireless connector on your PC this is quite possible, but you may find the signal is not good enough for a good internet connection. This applies especially if you are reversing your existing set up, where you do not have a very good connection to your HD box, your connection to the PC will suffer. Homeplugs, or a long ethernet cable is your best bet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub/ Sky Wifi Adaptor.

      As the Sky Wifi Connector has already been set up with your routers password it will be plug and play. I take it that you will be moving your router from the 3rd floor to the ground floor. It may well be worth noting your router stats before and after the move as if you are moving the router's ADSL connection from an extension to the master socket any decrease in attenuation carries with it a possible increase in connection speed.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub/ Sky Wifi Adaptor.

      I know it is not advised by Sky, but if your router is on the top floor and the HD box on the ground floor, try turning the router on flat. It may improve your reception downstairs. The thinking behind this is that the Hub sends the signal out in a narrow horizontal beam, so anything above it, or below it, is going to get a poor signal. Turning it on flat should direct the beam vertically instead of horizontally. Might be worth a try before you go to any trouble.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      holski's Avatar
      holski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Torquay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Torquay
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub/ Sky Wifi Adaptor.

      Ok, very helpful guys, thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION