Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Can I change my Router?

    This is a discussion on Can I change my Router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, I have a Sagemcom F@st 2304 Router (not mentioned much on these forums) Can I upgrade my sky router ...

    1. #1
      Rodweiller's Avatar
      Rodweiller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colwyn Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I change my Router?

      Hello,

      I have a Sagemcom F@st 2304 Router (not mentioned much on these forums)

      Can I upgrade my sky router with sky or can I use a non sky router with Sky Broadbrand Unlimited?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      There are instructions on this forum for extracting the login details from the Sagem 2304n for use with your own router.

      Check which kind of a connection you have first, if you intend to purchase your own router. Some people are on PPPoA, others are on an MER connection. Only the Billion 7800n would be suitable if you are locked on an MER connection. Otherwise PPPoA will work with most routers.

      The alternative would be to purchase Sky's latest router, the Sky Hub SR101. This is around 69 +postage.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Rodweiller (19-02-13)

    5. #3
      Rodweiller's Avatar
      Rodweiller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colwyn Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      Many thanks Scubbie

      Thinking of taking mine to the next Antiques Road Show. I am on PPPoA.

      Cheers

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      The 2304n was probably the worst router Sky have ever issued. I can't remember anyone saying anything good about it. Sky's new Hub has some favourable reports, but I would not pay 70+ for it, there are loads of routers which will do a better job which cost less. This one from TP is about half the price and has far better specs -
      TP-Link TD-W8968 300Mbps Wireless N USB ADSL2+ Modem Router for BT connections: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories
      It has a USB port for printer, 3g or drive connect and can also be used with Fibre should you ever move to that in the future. It also has a reasonable QoS if you happen to be in a multi user household.

      If your budget permits the Billion 7800n is highly recommended on the forum, both for ADSL and Fibre.
      Billion BiPAC 7800N Dual WAN ADSL2+/Broadband Wireless-N Gigabit Firewall Modem Router: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Rodweiller (19-02-13)

    8. #5
      Rodweiller's Avatar
      Rodweiller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colwyn Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      Thanks again Isitme. I have a Belkin N1 router sat in the garage gathering dust. From what I can see and please correct me if I am wrong, its similar specs to the TP-Link without the USB port which I have to say is great as I run a home network. I might try and run it on Sky broadband first before parting with cash as it were. I think my children will be married with kids of their own by the time we have Fibre!!!

    9. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      Using the Openreach Where & When page, it looks like the surrounding area, not just where you are, isn't yet included on any roll-out plans. This could be for a number of reasons.

      Could I suggest that you contact BTO for some kind of an explanation? It might be that the local government needs to secure the funding and hasn't put a tender out for Fibre broadband.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #7
      Rodweiller's Avatar
      Rodweiller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colwyn Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      Cheers Scubbie,

      you referred above to a how to extract login details for my Sagemcom 2304 - any ideas where the instructions are please?

      Thanks

    11. #8
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Rodweiller View Post
      Cheers Scubbie, you referred above to a how to extract login details for my Sagemcom 2304 - any ideas where the instructions are please?Thanks
      Sky Broadband Password Calculator - pH-Mb

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Rodweiller (19-02-13)

    13. #9
      Rodweiller's Avatar
      Rodweiller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colwyn Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      nope didnt work?

    14. #10
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Can I change my Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Rodweiller View Post
      nope didnt work?
      What are you using as username? Should be yourmacaddress@skydsl

    15. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Rodweiller (19-02-13)

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION