Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26
    Like Tree4Likes

    Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

    This is a discussion on Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; So I get this odd problem with my ipad 3 Wireless still shows connected at full strength but I lose ...

    1. #1
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      So I get this odd problem with my ipad 3
      Wireless still shows connected at full strength but I lose the Internet connection. Other devices work ok on wifi when this problem hits the ipad.

      Only way to fix is temporary by turning wireless off then on again on ipad, changing wifi channel, rebooting router, resetting network settings on ipad.....all work for a while but eventually problem comes back, sometimes in days sometimes in seconds, it can be quite frustrating sometimes

      Googled with regard to ipad and all suggestions only work temporarily

      I have an older netgear router

      Could it be a router issue or is it my ipad (flakey ios6)?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      kman28's Avatar
      kman28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Banbridge (NIBB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      Can u check what encryption your wireless security is set to by going to 192.168.0.1 click on wireless and enter username admin password sky

      See if it is set to wpa/psk (aes) or mixed. If it's mixed change it to aes. I had to for my Asus transformer tablet to stay connected
      Sky Fiber 40/10 Connection - DL 39998 - UL 10000

    4. #3
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      I don't have an aes option
      It's either; disabled, wep, wpa/psk or wpa-802.1x

    5. #4
      kman28's Avatar
      kman28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Banbridge (NIBB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      For testing try wep see if it's more stable. Choose wep and change the encryption to 64 bit
      Sky Fiber 40/10 Connection - DL 39998 - UL 10000

    6. #5
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      Why would it be more stable?

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      If the iPad doesn't like the WPA-PSK setting and WPA2-AES isn't available on the Netgear DG934G, then you may wish to consider sweet-talking someone at Sky to send you out the new Sky Hub SR101.

      The Hub was available for 39+ postage at first. It is now 69+ postage. See if you can get if for less.

      Personally I would not recommend the use of WEP in the long term. It is unsecure and easily cracked. It is also due to be phased out now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      kman28's Avatar
      kman28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Banbridge (NIBB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      Agreed scubbie I was only wanting to see if it lost connection as quick. If not due to it being phased out the opp might be able to get a hub on those security grounds
      Sky Fiber 40/10 Connection - DL 39998 - UL 10000

    9. #8
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      That's why I was asking about wep, because a understand the difference and what it is, just didn't know if there was some known problem with wpa-psk for my router that you were aware of that I wasn't

      Interestingly actually as I am typing I am thinking I can't remember the last time the problem hit my ipad. We have 2 iPads in the house, mine seems worst affected, the other it's only happened maybe once or twice in the last 6-8 months

      Oth than this though I have a pretty stable adsl connection and get more out of the line than everyone thinks I should do.
      If I were to try and wangle a new router would they reset the line or anything? Don't really want to go through that palava again.....also am hoping later in the year I get to go to fibre...

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      Over time on this forum we have seen several instances where specific products, including some Apple products, have have issues with WPA-PSK and the WPA2/WPA Mixed mode. This can be confirmed by simply using WEP or disabling the security altogether.

      Obviously what wasn't clear is that this should not be seen as a permanent solution, just something to check out things.

      At the moment there has been no news on a firmware update for the Netgear DG934G so that it can properly support WPA2-AES. This should work when it has been made available.

      Other things which will fix this on occasions is to update drivers and firmwares. There is a new firmware available recently for the iPad, so I would suggest that you check this out too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it my sky router or my ipad at fault?

      Thanks, I'm already on the latest iOS

      I think I might just put up with it for now, if it comes back with a vengeance I'll test wep as suggested then give sky a buzz to see if I can beg a new hub out of them...

      One last thought, I know you shouldn't, but is it possible to flash the netgear router with unsupported firmware to get the wpa-psk/aes capability?

      Cheers for the info

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION