Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    New Sky router?

    This is a discussion on New Sky router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I see sky has released a new Sky hub router, but I'm not paying them 40 for issuing me one ...

    1. #1
      UiBs's Avatar
      UiBs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky router?

      I see sky has released a new Sky hub router, but I'm not paying them 40 for issuing me one as a current customer, I know someone who recently got sky in november and recieved a sky hub but since cant afford and he was looking to sell the equipment since it was cut off, now could I buy his hub from him (10) how would I go about using it at my address since they all come pre configured for each customer?

      I've currently got unlimited by sky and the sagem router, which also has been playing up with the wireless connection lately?

      Also sorry if this has been mentioned somewhere else


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: New Sky router?

      By all means give it a try, but if your friend was disconnected due to financial issues, the router may be locked out from Sky's servers. If this is the case, you can try calling Sky to get it unlocked, but it may not be possible.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      UiBs's Avatar
      UiBs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky router?

      What way does it pick up my account to get my details for the router? Would i just connect it up and press the reset button?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: New Sky router?

      The Sky routers have their own log in details, unlike many other ISPs.

      This means that the router which I have could be unplugged and used on another Sky broadband connection without any problems.

      The router becomes associated with your account by it's use on your line, hence how Sky can lock out a router.

      We often suggest that someone borrows a friend or relatives router if there is potentially a router problem. This helps to confirm/deny a router fault.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      UiBs's Avatar
      UiBs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The Sky routers have their own log in details, unlike many other ISPs.

      This means that the router which I have could be unplugged and used on another Sky broadband connection without any problems.

      The router becomes associated with your account by it's use on your line, hence how Sky can lock out a router.

      We often suggest that someone borrows a friend or relatives router if there is potentially a router problem. This helps to confirm/deny a router fault.

      Ok so I got the router and I connected it up and I get the power light and the wireless light ok then the amber flashing internet for 30 secs and then the light just stays on in amber so obviously no internet connection and I cant log into it says must phone sky, how do I tell if its been locked or what would be my next step?

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: New Sky router?

      Give Sky a friendly call.

      Explain that a friend who no longer has Sky Broadband has given you their router and that you are having problems getting it connected to the Internet.

      Play along through things and see if they can quickly pick up whether or not is has been locked out. Ideally they should be able to spot this easily by checking a section on their screen.

      Since you have Sky Broadband I am hoping that you have Sky Talk as well. This being the case, the call to Sky will be free.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION