Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Trouble Connecting to router

    This is a discussion on Trouble Connecting to router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All. Well i am still using a DG834GT and i am now intermittently having problems connecting to it over ...

    1. #1
      ajs's Avatar
      ajs
      ajs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Trouble Connecting to router

      Hi All. Well i am still using a DG834GT and i am now intermittently having problems connecting to it over wireless. Phoned sky support who went through there list of things to do and finally they asked if the router was using the latest firmware. Well occurding to the Netgear site the latest firmware i can download is 1.03.23 but my router says its running 1.04.13 .Now to me i do have the latest firmware installed or am i reading the firmware version incorrectly.


      Thanks in advance Alan.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Trouble Connecting to router

      You do have the latest Sky firmware, unfortunately the latest version is useless as it breaks several functions in the router. Sky have been aware of this for nearly a year now and have done nothing about it. The firmware on the Netgear site is not suitable, unless you flash the router with non Sky firmware. You should complain bitterly to Sky as they have broken the router by updating it with unsuitable firmware. You can read more about this on the Official Sky forum -
      Sky Help Forum - Sky supplied netgear dg834gt wireless router error... - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

      One work around which may help in the meantime is manually setting a wireless channel on the router. Try number 13. This will not fix the DHCP issues which are the main problem. You may be able to overcome this by giving your devices a fixed IP address. This again is a work around and is not really a solution for mobile devices which may be used on another network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      ajs (16-12-12)

    5. #3
      ajs's Avatar
      ajs
      ajs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trouble Connecting to router

      Hi Isitme. Thank you for the reply. When i first brought this issue up they originally wanted me to upgrade to there new router and wanted me to pay for it. I will have a read of that thread and get back to them.

    6. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Trouble Connecting to router

      Also, the person on the phone shouldn't be asking you to check what firmware is running. They can see the FW version on their screen if they'd have bothered to look.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION