Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    SR101 and Slingbox

    This is a discussion on SR101 and Slingbox within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, just joined today. My slingbox worked fine with my previous router but just gor mt new Sky broadband ...

    1. #1
      Spruce01's Avatar
      Spruce01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01259
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SR101 and Slingbox

      Hi all, just joined today.

      My slingbox worked fine with my previous router but just gor mt new Sky broadband and SR101 router and now it cannot be found . Tried my laptop ethernet linked to the router and error message I am getting is that router may be blocking access.Do I need to change some default firewall settings?
      Thanks in anticipation

      John


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Slingbox

      The Slingbox should work just fine.

      Did you set an IP Address on the Slingbox previously? It might be that the IP Address range has changed from your previous ISP and that the Slingbox is still trying to use the old IP Address.

      Sky uses the range 192.168.0.2 - 192.168.0.254.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Spruce01 (15-12-12)

    5. #3
      Spruce01's Avatar
      Spruce01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01259
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Slingbox

      Many thanks , it was I think the IP address. I did a hard reset on the slingbox and it seems ok now thanks

      John

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Slingbox

      No problem.

      As a suggestion you may want to set up a reserved IP Address for the Slingbox on the SR101. This would mean it still has a fixed IP Address, but should you change the router again, it will be easier to resolve.

      IP Address Reservation

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION