Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Using Sky's Router Firewall

    This is a discussion on Using Sky's Router Firewall within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; if you read this carefully and think if your pc didnt act as an internet server ,then you wouldnt be ...

    1. #11
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      467
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Using Sky's Router Firewall

      if you read this carefully and think if your pc didnt act as an internet server ,then you wouldnt be able to browse


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Using Sky's Router Firewall

      The "Respond to Ping" is a setting on your router, not the computer.

      Log into your router and click on the "Advanced" tab. Disable this setting and that should be fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Using Sky's Router Firewall

      Quote Originally Posted by tenar View Post
      if you read this carefully and think if your pc didnt act as an internet server ,then you wouldnt be able to browse
      The PC isn't a server. It doesn't host web pages. In this case it's just acting as a client. I imagine that the security scan is looking for things like IIS or Apache being installed (in order to serve web pages) and vulnerabilities to do with those. If a PC is being used to serve web pages then ports need to be opened, even if it's port 80, for the outside world to see it.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using Sky's Router Firewall

      I think it is important to realise that when you use Shieldsup it is not testing your PC, it is probing your router. Unless you disable the router's firewall it will not even see your PC. This is explained here -
      ShieldsUP! automatically tests your NAT router's WAN-side security because the router's WAN IP is the single public IP that connects your internal private network to the public Internet. When a test is initiated by any system behind a NAT router, we are testing the public-side security of the router itself and not the security of the individual machines which are located behind and protected by the router.


      While on the subject I would point out this observation to certain members who maintain that Ping response should be enabled.

      Ping Reply: RECEIVED (FAILED) — Your system REPLIED to our Ping (ICMP Echo) requests, making it visible on the Internet. Most personal firewalls can be configured to block, drop, and ignore such ping requests in order to better hide systems from hackers. This is highly recommended since "Ping" is among the oldest and most common methods used to locate systems prior to further exploitation.
      Having Respond to Ping permanently enabled is not a good idea.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Sky's Router Firewall

      I have logged into my router and unticked respond to ping.
      Thank you very much everyone who assisted me with advice, very much appreciated!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION