Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Ardbeggordon

    New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

    This is a discussion on New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm trying to set remote access to my Humax Foxsat through the new Sky hub , i did have it ...

    1. #1
      Ardbeggordon's Avatar
      Ardbeggordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wideopen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      I'm trying to set remote access to my Humax Foxsat through the new Sky hub , i did have it working on my old netgear one but i can't seem to get it to work on this one .
      Following instructions from the people who made the custom software for the Foxsat i set the following service first......
      Name: Foxsat-HDR
      Type: TCP
      Start Port: XXX (number used by mongoose to access the foxsat)
      Finish Port: XXX

      Then i set the Firewall rules , first the Outbound services......
      Service: Foxsat-hdr (TCP:XXX:XXX)
      Action: Allow always
      LAN Users: single address
      Start: 192.168.0.X (set as a reserved ip on the hub)

      Then the inbound services.....
      Service: Foxsat-hdr (TCP:XXX:XXX)
      Action: Allow always
      Send to LAN Server: 192.168.0.X

      After spending ages trying to access it via the browser on my mobile phone (which i was able to on the old netgear) i noticed the default rules . on the outbound it says allow always but on the inbound it says BLOCK always , reading the stuff on the right of the screen it says The default rule blocks all inbound traffic. Can i not access it with this new Hub ? Can i change the default rule ?
      Your help is appreciated , thanks in advance .

      Edit - Forgot to say i'm access it via http://(my hub ip address):XXX and it just comes up "Forbidden you don't have permission to access this on this server"
      Last edited by Ardbeggordon; 26-10-12 at 05:29 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      Not knowing the specific requirements of the Foxsat, I won't be able to offer specific advice.

      However, have you taken a look at the guide linked below which may help to set up the port forwarding a little?

      Port forwarding - Setting up Port forwarding (use existing & set up custom services)

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Ardbeggordon (27-10-12)

    5. #3
      Ardbeggordon's Avatar
      Ardbeggordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wideopen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      Thanks Scubbie , that's what i did and it's still not working , think i need to ask on the AV forum that deals with the custom firmware .

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      No problem.

      Port forwarding is always a little bit of a minefield.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Ardbeggordon (27-10-12)

    8. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,224
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 389 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      Edit - Forgot to say i'm access it via http://(my hub ip address):XXX and it just comes up "Forbidden you don't have permission to access this on this server"
      Surely you need to try and access it as;

      http://(my Foxsat-hdr ip address):XXX

      ie http://192.168.0.1.20 (or whatever IP you saved it as here - Start: 192.168.0.X (set as a reserved ip on the hub)

      afaik You don't need the outgoing rule, so try deleting that one.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      Ardbeggordon (27-10-12)

    10. #6
      Ardbeggordon's Avatar
      Ardbeggordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wideopen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Surely you need to try and access it as;

      http://(my Foxsat-hdr ip address):XXX

      ie http://192.168.0.1.20 (or whatever IP you saved it as here - Start: 192.168.0.X (set as a reserved ip on the hub)

      afaik You don't need the outgoing rule, so try deleting that one.
      I can access it from within the Network ok (as you say at the reserved ip address) but since i've changed routers i can't remotely access it from outside the network .

    11. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,224
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 389 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      That maybe because of NAT

      ie you would have to use an external connection or neighbours WIFI etc

      I can try it for you if you PM me the details?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      Ardbeggordon (27-10-12)

    13. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,224
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 389 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      That maybe because of NAT

      ie you would have to use an external connection or neighbours WIFI etc

      I can try it for you if you PM me the details?
      Scrap that you said external anyway.

      Try removing the outgoing rule and try again?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      Ardbeggordon (27-10-12)

    15. #9
      Ardbeggordon's Avatar
      Ardbeggordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wideopen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky hub Inbound Services Firewall rules

      Tried again this morning after i tried using port 80 (which worked) , then went back to the original port and it was working !
      I can now set recordings remotely to the Foxsat again

      Thanks for all the replies !
      Scubbie likes this.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION