Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 1 Post By mnavarra
    • 1 Post By johnbourne

    Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

    This is a discussion on Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; So I have the new hub which replaced the last Sagem router I had (the latest version). I had no ...

    1. #1
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      151
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      So I have the new hub which replaced the last Sagem router I had (the latest version).

      I had no issues with wireless on iPhone, laptop, iPad or Xbox previously. Now since installing hub, all devices are connecting well/fast except my new latest iPad.

      It has intermittent connection which is dropping out or just not connecting at all at times and is v slow or stop start in terms of speed?

      Anyone got any ideas why this would be?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      What is you connection speed and how far away from the router is your iPad? Using WiFi Analyzer, is the signal strength good and the channel relatively clear?

      I know for sure that both the iPad and iPhone work fine with the Sky Hub SR101.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      151
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      iPad has issues whether next to Hub or far away. iPad displaying full strength wifi signal bars but same issues. All other devices fine around house. I have a 13mb download speed typically.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    5. #4
      johnbourne's Avatar
      johnbourne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Erdington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      I got my Sky Hub today and have the same issues with my 3rd Generation iPad, Wi-Fi seems very slow or seems to time out.

      All other devices work ok including my iPhone 4S and had no issues with the 2504N it replaced.

      I have matched the wireless settings that I had on my 2504N and even tried setting the channel to Auto but it doesn't help.

      Think I will need to go back to the 2504N till it gets sorted as I use my iPad to surf a lot!

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      Ok, just to help us a little, can you provide us some information please?

      What is your router's connection statistics?

      What are the WiFi settings, with regards to the options on the Wireless Settings page? Obviously please don't post the SSID, password or PIN.

      http://192.168.0.1/sky_wireless_settings.html

      Could you take a look with a laptop to see what speed inSSIDer reports that router to be broadcasting at as well please?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      johnbourne's Avatar
      johnbourne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Erdington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad-connection.jpgSky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad-wireless-settings.jpg

      inSSIDer reports 144Mbps.
      Last edited by johnbourne; 25-10-12 at 07:56 PM.

    8. #7
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      78
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      I have the new Sky Hub and I have the iPad 3rd Gen, iPhone 5 and I have none of the issues others have mentioned.

      - - - Updated - - -

      @ mnavarra, johnbourne

      Try this:

      On your iPad, go into Settings/General, scroll down to the bottom and touch Reset, choose Reset Network Settings. WARNING CHOOSING RESET NETWORK SETTINGS WILL ERASE ALL PREVIOUSLY STORED WIFI PASSWORDS.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Tal71 For This Useful Post:

      johnbourne (25-10-12)

    10. #8
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      151
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      I did the network settings reset earlier and it solved issue. Not sure what the problem was but all ok now


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to mnavarra For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (25-10-12)

    12. #9
      johnbourne's Avatar
      johnbourne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Erdington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      Resetting the network settings on the iPad does indeed seem to have fixed things.
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to johnbourne For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (25-10-12)

    14. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 - Issues with wireless and iPad

      Quote Originally Posted by mnavarra View Post
      I did the network settings reset earlier and it solved issue. Not sure what the problem was but all ok now
      This is good news.

      Quote Originally Posted by johnbourne View Post
      Resetting the network settings on the iPad does indeed seem to have fixed things.
      Ok, same issue, different results.

      Can you confirm that you settings match those from post #6 please?

      Also could you post you current connection stats please?

      Edit: Sorry - misread post. Worked as well. Ignore the above then.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION