Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19
    Like Tree2Likes

    Problems with new hub!

    This is a discussion on Problems with new hub! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've just received the new hub today and set it up, so far so good. I have two PCs connected ...

    1. #1
      Gatland's Avatar
      Gatland is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with new hub!

      I've just received the new hub today and set it up, so far so good.

      I have two PCs connected to the Hub, via n enabled wireless adapters here.

      Now the PCs connect to the internet but the most I can get out of the hub is a transfer rate of 54Mbps, in fact the only options in the router settings menu are of the 54g variety, no N options at all.

      Should I have the option to connect using n settings in the hub/router menu?

      There are no 54g enabled devices connecting to the router and all drivers are updated and control panel shows usb n enabled adapters working correctly so as far as I can see there is no reason why the router can't connect at n rates.

      I tried technical support today, spoke to two people, got nowhere, and finally a third just rang me. The last guy told me that 54g is all I needed (thanks for that giving I've just bought your new router and the old one gave me that) and that the max output of the new hub will only ever be 54g/54Mbps????

      I asked what was the point of an n router if it maxed out at 54Mbps. He just re-iterated that the router would only ever transfer at 54g and that it was the range that would be increased.

      Surely this can't be right!!!!?????

      It hasn't even increased the range, the computers one floor above still have poor connection.

      Any ideas what I can do?

      Could it be the USB adapters aren't up to scratch, I really don't want to shell out 30 quid for a netgear one only to end up with the same issue.

      Your thoughts are much appreciated.
      Last edited by Gatland; 24-10-12 at 08:00 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Gatland's Avatar
      Gatland is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with new hub!

      Not sure I've posted this in the right bit. I should also stat that I had the old Netgear router previously. I would expect some improvement over that....

    4. #3
      puppet's Avatar
      puppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Problems with new hub!

      According to the info I have read, it should certainly be capable of 144mbps

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-n...hub-sr101.html

      Could it be dependant on the wireless channel it is running on, as I recall on some Netgears the max speed was only available on certain channels?

    5. #4
      Gatland's Avatar
      Gatland is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with new hub!

      Hmmm dunno

      It's a pain!

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Problems with new hub!

      Hi there Gatland.

      Firstly the adaptors you have linked to are only limited to 150mbps. If you take a look at the chart in the link below, you will see it reaches this speed on a paired channel and that this will limit you to 72mbps on a single channel. The Sky Hub uses a single channel.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...on-speeds.html

      Now why are you only achieving 54mb/s with the Sky Hub SR101? Firstly could you download and install inSSIDer please?

      inSSIDer - Discover The Wi-Fi Around You | MetaGeek

      This will show you, among other things, just what the actual broadcast speed is of the router. This should be 144mb/s. If it isn't, can you navigate to the Wireless page and check the settings. I have just published the article on setting up the Wireless settings to help you here. The mode should be set to 'Auto':

      Changing the Wireless settings

      If this is still a problem, can you check that you are connecting via the USB WiFi n Dongle, not the internal WiFi card. Can you also check it's settings too please.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Liam89's Avatar
      Liam89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Auckland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with new hub!

      I have one of the new hubs recieved it today ,
      Previously having the N router ,
      As scubbie said above i have also been informed to leave the setting to auto that way it picks up if your adapter is capable of N speeds or not
      Apparantley thats what ive been told and leaving it on auto i get the 144

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Problems with new hub!

      I wonder if you have set the encryption incorrectly? The wireless N standard will drop back to 54mbps if you don't use WPA2 with AES encryption. If you are using WPA-PSK you will not get the full speed. I don't know what default Sky use when they send these out.

      The agent you spoke to was obviously an idiot and shouldn't be speaking to customers.
      jayhab likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Problems with new hub!

      This seems a bit daft. Can I also add that if your mixxing b/g with n devices that also slows your throughput. I would suggest on setting up your old router as another wireless station to connect old b/g devices to. This is what I'm going to have to do now.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The wireless N standard will drop back to 54mbps if you don't use WPA2 with AES encryption.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts
      It may slow down the throughput, but the connection dpeef should report better than 54mbps.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner
      Last edited by Scubbie; 25-10-12 at 10:21 AM. Reason: correct typo

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Gatland's Avatar
      Gatland is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with new hub!

      Thanks for all your input and thanks Scubbie, your one post was more useful than hours of wasted time with Sky yesterday. I restarted the router a couple of times and now I'm getting 72 Mbps! Yay! The signal still isn't the strongest to be honest, but I live in a big old semi so the thickness of the walls and high ceilings don't help.

      All I wanted to know was whether N capabilities should be a option in the drop down menu, once I discovered that it wasn't I could look at other things. Why couldn't Sky give me a simple answer to that question? And why lie about the max throughput? I called him a liar on the phone LOL Feel a tad embarrassed by that but I was at the end of my tether.

      Thanks for your help guys & gals!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION