Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

    This is a discussion on cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; After having a few issues with this router, Sky tech sent me a rescue cd that has the entire range ...

    1. #1
      musicman53's Avatar
      musicman53 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch, Bristol and Chepstow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Whitchurch, Bristol and Chepstow
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs down cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware


      After having a few issues with this router, Sky tech sent me a rescue cd that has the entire range of Sky routers firmware files on it.
      After selecting the correct one for my router, it went thru the firmware update to the most recent one BUT when it finished, the firmware was NOT updated at all.
      My firmware(on my router)is 5.23.1a4N, the one on the rescue cd is F2504n_5_27_1a4N_fs_kernel_NONE(5.27.1a4N).
      Have tried but no way will it update....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      5.23.1a4N is the latest stable FW the one released after that caused issues and Sky withdrew it.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      Have you tried unplugging the ADSL cable and any other LAN cables apart from the one going to PC you are performed the update from? Also make sure any wireless devices are disconnected/turned off during the firmware update.

    5. #4
      musicman53's Avatar
      musicman53 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch, Bristol and Chepstow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Whitchurch, Bristol and Chepstow
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by James_Mitchell View Post
      Have you tried unplugging the ADSL cable and any other LAN cables apart from the one going to PC you are performed the update from? Also make sure any wireless devices are disconnected/turned off during the firmware update.
      Yep,
      done that....
      I only ever have the one PC connected via ethernet and to the adsl socket on the wall.
      Still will not update.
      The version on the CD they sent me is the most recent/up to date version that worked.

    6. #5
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      Firmware version 5.27.1a4N is for fibre connections.

      Version 5.23.1a4N is the latest one for ADSL.

    7. #6
      musicman53's Avatar
      musicman53 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch, Bristol and Chepstow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Whitchurch, Bristol and Chepstow
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs down Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      Firmware version 5.27.1a4N is for fibre connections.

      Version 5.23.1a4N is the latest one for ADSL.
      Then Sky"tech"should not send a recsue cd that contains a firmware version that is not for NON fibre customers...

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      Another member did manage to update their ADSL version to match their Fibre version.

      If you do a little search on this forum, there should be a thread about it.

      From memory they had to get the timing right in order to get the update completed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by musicman53 View Post
      Then Sky"tech"should not send a recsue cd that contains a firmware version that is not for NON fibre customers...
      You said in your first post,

      Sky tech sent me a rescue cd that has the entire range of Sky routers firmware files on it.
      We did tell you what the current FW was in the second post.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      musicman53's Avatar
      musicman53 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch, Bristol and Chepstow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Whitchurch, Bristol and Chepstow
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Exclamation Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      5.23.1a4N is the latest stable FW the one released after that caused issues and Sky withdrew it.
      That is what some are saying.
      Each time I talk to Sky"tech"I get told a different story.
      Latest one is that "we have sent you a NEW n router, it is the F@ST2504N and it will resolve the issues.
      It is the revised version, we cannot tell you the version of firmware installed, you will have to tell us."
      Sure, oh really?
      Someone does not know then...
      I have that same type of router, I have 5.23.1a4E firmware....
      And they said"Please contact us and request the new Sky Hub in December"

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: cannot update sagecom f@st 2504n firmware

      Each time I talk to Sky"tech"I get told a different story.
      Depends if you are speaking to proper tech or not though, thats the main issue.

      Someone does not know then...
      To be fair, a normal CST agent has no reason to know anything about FW - It doesn't stop them from doing their job I would have thought.

      Have a read of this, obviously this concerns using the 2504n on normal ADSL - I believe that the fibre equivalent is a different FW

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-n...-1a4n_uni.html
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION