Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 56

    New Sagem N router

    This is a discussion on New Sagem N router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I have a white Netgear V1 router and it has sadly died. Have been without Internet for 3 days. ...

    1. #1
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      New Sagem N router

      Hi,

      I have a white Netgear V1 router and it has sadly died. Have been without Internet for 3 days. It won't sync at all. Line testing all done, no faults at exchange, all microfilters checked and master test socket tested.

      They are sending a replacement Sagem N router and my question is can the SSID and security be changed like the Netgear or is it locked to default?

      Many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sagem N router

      Yes it can.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      MrMischief (11-09-12)

    5. #3
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      New Sagem N router

      Thanks!

    6. #4
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      New Sagem N router

      What's this router like? I'm hear it's pretty rubbish....

    7. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sagem N router

      I have had mine and been using it for about 12 months, as a router it is great, performs and never had a minutes trouble. Wireless is better than any other Sky Router that I have had in the past.

      If you want something technical and geeky, then it is very poor, apart from that it works well.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #6
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      New Sagem N router

      I would have got another Netgear but Sky don't allow us to use our own. I don't understand why Sky dropped Netgear.

    9. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sagem N router

      I would have got another Netgear but Sky don't allow us to use our own.
      True, but Sky seem to turn a blind eye to that rule.

      Unless if you have an issue, then Sky normally won't support you until you plug the Sky router in.

      At the end of the day it is your choice and your risk though, but hundreds if not thousands on here, use their own router.

      For the vast majority of Sky Broadband Customers though, there is no need to use anything but the Sky router.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #8
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      New Sagem N router

      Yeah I wanted to use my own router but after reading about problems connecting to MER, it wasn't worth the hassle

    11. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sagem N router

      Quote Originally Posted by MrMischief View Post
      Yeah I wanted to use my own router bit after reading about problems connecting to MER, it wasn't worth the hassle
      It appears, although not official, this shouldn't be an issue in the future, as Sky seem to be swapping everyone back from MER to PPPoA
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    12. #10
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      New Sagem N router

      Are they? I'm still on MER

     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION