Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23
    Like Tree8Likes

    Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

    This is a discussion on Sky Hub SR101 LEDs within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Scubbie It is also important to recognise that Flash isn't dead. Far from it in fact....

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It is also important to recognise that Flash isn't dead. Far from it in fact.
      Scubbie and rederick like this.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Obviously many apps that use Flash Player will need to be re-encoded, not just BBC iPlayer. I think YouTube uses Flash Player too, at least it does/did on the website.
      On Android - on Windows Phone and iOS both YouTube and BBC iPlayer use non flash streams.

      It is also important to recognise that Flash isn't dead. Far from it in fact. Flash will be included as standard for the next round of browsers to be released next year.
      On x86/x64 processors from Intel and/or AMD as there is only one code stream. Adobe have stopped on ARM processors (used in mobile devices) as there are literally too many variants, and thus too much overhead debugging and supporting etc.

      As for Silverlight, that was a snip at the Sky not-Go app.
      ITV uses it too - works fine on Mac, Windows, Linux ;-)
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

    4. #13
      Aebleskiver's Avatar
      Aebleskiver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      btw, the native YouTube program for Android (and video player invoked from Browser) uses Google's HTML5 H.264 streams.
      There was a tweet quite recently from the iPlayer team that there should be a new Android soon too that's not dependent on the Flash player. At last There's definite bias from the BBC towards Apple; the Android application has been neglected for months on end...

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      True. The latest version of iPlayer on the iPad supports the ability to download content for watching later, like you can with the PC version.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      78
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Just a short video to demonstrate some of what the new Sky Hub SR101 does. The Sky+ HD LED Blinks when you download load content using the Anytime+/On Demand section of the EPG.



      This occurs with the new EPG (Picasso) and later. Those who have the older EPG do not currently see this activity. Once everyone has the new EPG, then this will be the result.

      I also understand that the LED may blink when there is other activity relating to the Sky+ HD STB over your LAN, such as when the new iPad app is being used. I can't verify this as I don't have an iPad and the app isn't available for my Android phone yet.

      If is also possible to see the LAN port LEDs blinking as well.
      I noticed that when I'm connected to the Sky Hub wirelessly with my iPhone, iPad, the wireless light does not flash like the 2504N used to, not sure if its just an iPhone, iPad issue or if the wireless light would flash with a different device such as a laptop, or perhaps it doesn't flash at all, not really a problem though, just thought I'd point it out.

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      Sadly the WiFi LED does not flash to indicate traffic.

      There have been quite a few times I would have liked this too. There are other new routers by other companies which also no longer flash the WiFi LED/s to indicate traffic as well. I am specifically thinking of the Netgear DGND3700 and WNDR3800.

      The only times that it does blink is when the router is starting and the WiFi is establishing itself, then it also blinks orange I think.

      The Internet LED blinks orange when the connection is being made.

      Should the power LED blink orange DO NOT power off the router as the firmware is being updated.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      78
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      Thanks Scubbie for the help its much appreciated. Not really a problem for me though, its just something I'm used to seeing when connected wirelessly. Strange why there has been routers made without this feature, perhaps there has been complaints from people that find the flashing wireless lights distracting when the router is in direct view, and these manufacturers have removed this feature.

    9. #18
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      It was put across that it was something that some people had disliked.

      I can only guess that someone somewhere has done a study or survey of some kind or someone has got busy and complained to all the manufacturers.

      Personally I liked the flashing indication as some people tend to know when it should be used or not (i.e. children should be in bed and asleep).

      At the same time many routers will be in the hallway when such lights will never be seen, or perhaps in the lounge and the flashing could distract you from the TV.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #19
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      Quote Originally Posted by Restorer View Post
      Have they actually announced there will be an android app?
      I realise its not really whats being discussed but I discovered by accident that the Zeebox app on my Nexus 7 will change channels on my Sky+HD 1 tb box. It was a bit spooky 'til I realised what was going on!
      Trying to decide if its worth buying an SR101, got an F@ST 2504n atm?
      I like new shiny things..... help!
      Restorer and Scubbie like this.


    11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to penrhyn For This Useful Post:

      Restorer (26-10-12),Scubbie (26-10-12)

    12. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 LEDs

      Well spotted. This was rumoured/hinted/mentioned some time back, and now works on my Samsung Galaxy SGII as well.

      That'll upset someone I know who loves their iPad app They'll be watching their STB thinking I haven't got the remote and I'm texting away.... then ZAP!!! The channel changes.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION