Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Skys N Router

    This is a discussion on Skys N Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Am i right in thinking that even with it set to the power mode so i can use the N ...

    1. #1
      Haggistech's Avatar
      Haggistech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Skys N Router

      Am i right in thinking that even with it set to the power mode so i can use the N band

      that this will only work if all devices on the network at N rated devices?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      If there are G devices connected you will loose some, but not all the N speed. Older routers would reduce the speed to the lowest device connected but the new ones do not suffer from this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Haggistech's Avatar
      Haggistech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      ok thinking there is something wrong with my router then

      i cant connect at anything over 54mbps

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      Do you have an N router? Your Profile says you have a G.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Haggistech's Avatar
      Haggistech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      yeah just not updated it lol

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      Some have found it difficult to get the Sagem working at N speed, try changing your Wireless Mode. You do have an adapter capable of N speed?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      One thing I forgot to mention was that to get N speed you need to use WPA2-AES encryption. Anything else will default to 54G no matter what router or adapter you are using.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Haggistech's Avatar
      Haggistech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      ah lol i had it as TKIP+AES, changed it now and will try again

    10. #9
      Haggistech's Avatar
      Haggistech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      nope phone still only connecting at 54mbps and inSSIDer still only showing 2.4Ghz spectrum

      http://i.imgur.com/w5wS7.png

      removed passphrase and wps key lol
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Skys N Router-wireless.jpg  

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Skys N Router

      inSSIDer still only showing 2.4Ghz spectrum
      It only broadcasts at 2,4mhz so it will. Is the speed shown? It should be 144mbps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION