Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 39 of 39
    Like Tree5Likes

    Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

    This is a discussion on Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101 within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Just about to join Sky broadband - should get the new router next week - and I assume it will ...

    1. #31
      Vidsky's Avatar
      Vidsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      Just about to join Sky broadband - should get the new router next week - and I assume it will be the SR101. Does it support UPnP? I intend to connect my NAS to the router and want to be able to stream content from it to all my devices around the house? thx


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,224
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 387 Times in 313 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      Does it support UPnP?
      Port forwarding - UPnP
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #33
      Vidsky's Avatar
      Vidsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      OK - so got home to find the router has arrived. Of course it is not the SR101 - they are obviously clearing the dead stock. So I have the 2504n.

      My existing router is an old netgear model - but that does not support UPnP.
      Will the 2504n?

      I cannot try it out yet - as my sky broadband is not activated until next Wednesday. But I am eager to know if everything will work properly.
      Thx in adance for any insight.

    5. #34
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,224
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 387 Times in 313 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      Will the 2504n?
      Yes - I have had mine since September 2011 and it has been spot on.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #35
      Vidsky's Avatar
      Vidsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Yes - I have had mine since September 2011 and it has been spot on.
      Cool many thx - can't wait to see it in action!

    7. #36
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      I'm a ps3 gamer & have tried every possible permutation of UPnP on/off (router & ps3), port fowarding, DMZ etc & can report...

      Absolutely no difference in performance whatsoever, which surely means UPnP works well on the 2504N.

    8. #37
      Vidsky's Avatar
      Vidsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      Hi Gymno, thx for the update. Now i am getting excited for the big switch on.

      Many thx, Vid

    9. #38
      hussainx's Avatar
      hussainx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Paddington
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Location
      London
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      Hi all,

      I'm new here and after being with O2 since they first began their home broadband I have recently noticed my speedtest results fall from 16+ Mbps to barely 10Mbps in the past few months. I don't know if this is due to the "upgrades" over summer or O2 playing with my traffic (which they shouldnt becuase i'm on the Works package).

      More to the point, I was considering switching to Sky Unlimited for a while now and wanted to know if the new SR101 has any sort of bridge mode (like the Netgear DG384GT) so I can use it purely as a modem and have my Time Capsule handle all the routing???


      Currently my O2 setup on their WBIV despite being DMZ still gives me the annoying "Double NAT" message. I know it's not a major issue but if there is a bridge mode, I'd sleep better at night .

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      There is no 'bridge mode', you would have to use the DMZ as you are now.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION