Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 60
    Like Tree6Likes

    Have sky conned me with my router

    This is a discussion on Have sky conned me with my router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; "no plans to do this" answer. About right I feel, there is always the chance that something is downloaded that ...

    1. #31
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      "no plans to do this" answer.
      About right I feel, there is always the chance that something is downloaded that people will want to watch - Who will then either rent that item or upgrade to Movies etc

      Stopping that practise could cut off a potential strem of income, sorry I meant profit.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Come on liverpooltony you arnt under nda
      get us some inSSIDer screenshots and check if its gigabit
      gymno likes this.

    4. #33
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      and check if its gigabit
      It ain't. Loads of people have hinted at this already.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #34
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      'Showcase' is still there though (in that picture).

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Quote Originally Posted by bubblegun View Post
      'Showcase' is still there though (in that picture).
      There are many other changes coming to the EPG. Showcase may well still be there but it will be interesting to see what further changes will be delivered.

      I don't know all of them, but several hints have already been posted about some of the ones I do know about.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #36
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      I spoke with the technical team today about an issue I have and got to speak to someone who organised an engineer visit to the cabinet/line outside my house.

      I dropped the question about this new 'hub' and he told me that unfortunately release has slipped back to October due to some issue, apparently they had an email about it today telling them that the rollout has been delayed.

      -----------------------

      Stop Sky forcing their routers on us!!
      Last edited by James_478; 13-08-12 at 04:35 PM.

    8. #37
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      As a member of the Beta Testing I cannot either confirm or deny this.

      There are some issue that we are aware of, but I was hoping that they might be resolved soon.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #38
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      As a member of the Beta Testing I cannot either confirm or deny this.
      There are some issue that we are aware of, but I was hoping that they might be resolved soon.
      Shame as I was hoping to get one in Sept and that it might be dual band N (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz) as that is the main thing missing from many N routers today.

      Looks like it isn't - on http://certifications.wi-fi.org/search_products.php I looked under "integrated home access device" and found the SR101's certification PDF. Its 2 streams transmit, 2 streams receive at 2.4 GHz only, with WPA, and WPA2, and WiFi Protected Setup (PIN, PBC, Internal & External registrar) features. It can do 40 MHz at 2.4 GHz which is very unfriendly to neighbours (Apple kit doesn't support this for that reason). If I get one of these I'll probably disable WiFi and get an external Apple Airport Extreme or Airport Express to support 5 GHz for my laptop and work laptop. Sadly my WiFi radio and phones only support 2.4 GHz.

      Explanation: I live in a small block of flats and neighbours have Virgin Media SuperHubs which are automatically hunting for channel on 2.4 GHz and whatever channel I set my kit to the three neighbours SuperHubs move themselves to the same channel! WTF? Makes sense why its called a SuperDUD.
      Last edited by rederick; 18-08-12 at 05:49 PM. Reason: Additional info.
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

    10. #39
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Think your self lucky you dont live next to me i have taken the whole 2.4 Ghz spectrum with forced 40 MHz

      and they are pumping out 23db + 3 x 9db omni's on each


      Last edited by Shonk; 18-08-12 at 07:14 PM.

    11. #40
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Yikes, you have two APs and running them both at 2.4 GHz at 40 MHz ? I hope you don't live in a block of flats or your neighbours will soon be knocking on your door. Your neighbours do seem to be quite lower power to yours.

      Most of my flat is at 50db, and my neighbours sit at 48db underneath, so I get really annoyed when they use the same channel!!! Especially as their old router was fine, its the Virgin SuperDUD that keeps moving its channel to the same as mine

      I have a friend in New York (Bronx) and they have so many large buildings with multiple occupancy basically WiFi at 2.4 GHz is unusable. She's bought a very long ethernet cable!
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION