Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 60
    Like Tree6Likes

    Have sky conned me with my router

    This is a discussion on Have sky conned me with my router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by liverpooltony @Tony - What does the manual say about the Sky+HD light etc? Sorry only just seen ...

    1. #21
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Quote Originally Posted by liverpooltony View Post
      @Tony - What does the manual say about the Sky+HD light etc? Sorry only just seen this. The manual is very thin and only really tells you about setting the thing up. It tells you nothing about the hub, it doesnt even say it's wireless N. It mentions nothing of the features either. I have attached a pic of the only page that may be of interest
      ummm - Thats an interesting piece of info that you have just posted.

      Notice that there is no reference whatsoever to Anytime+ (which is what the STB gives us at the moment) as well as the URL (which is forwarding to Sky Anytime+ at the moment).

      Sky Anytime+ – Sky Anytime Plus | Sky Products

      Doing a quick Google on that URL shows no results. Which suggests it is being hidden from view at the moment.

      https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=sk...ient=firefox-a

      I wonder if something else is in the offing when this Hub launches?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      It looks like Anytime+ is becoming Sky TV On Demand, or no one has told whoever made up the instructions that TVOD was known as Anytime+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      That router is sexy..

      They are welcome to con me anytime if they send me one too lol
      Chug a Bug likes this.

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It looks like Anytime+ is becoming Sky TV On Demand, or no one has told whoever made up the instructions that TVOD was known as Anytime+.
      Thats how I read that information.

      I doubt it is because no one was told that TVOD was known as anytime, purely because of the URL - If Sky had the URL wrong it would 404 error - Therefore the sky.com/tvondemand URL must exist, as if you do sky.com/tvondemand1 then it shows the error.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Yes it resolves to Sky Anytime+ – Sky Anytime Plus | Sky Products which is Anytime+. They are going to have to do a lot of work on their sites if they are changing it, as Anytime+ is mentioned dozens of times on various pages.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Bet this will be a "pay for" upgrade to the rest of us peon's...

    8. #27
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Sky is hardly going to send out 4 million routers for all their broadband customers for free.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #28
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It looks like Anytime+ is becoming Sky TV On Demand, or no one has told whoever made up the instructions that TVOD was known as Anytime+.
      Now it is all beginning to make some sense.

      By the looks of it, Anytime+ is going to be changing to 'On Demand' hence that URL above.

      Have sky conned me with my router-tvondemand.jpg

      Catch Up TV | Sky Products

      Note that 'Showcase' has been changed to 'Catch Up' on the menu, and the 'Anytime+' (top left) has changed to 'On Demand', compared to the normal screen.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Have sky conned me with my router

      The ordinary Anytime seems to have gone. I wonder if this means we will get the use of a bigger portion of the disk? I doubt it though, Sky will probably fill it up with movies from the Sky Store. They already use part of it for Sky Store stuff, which I object to, why should they slip paid for content in with what is essentially supposed to be free? If I want to pay for something I will ask for it, it should not be using space on my disk.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Despite rumours to the contrary, I think Sky have responded in the EPG beta trial board to suggestions that the disk space reserved for Anytime should be freed up when Anytime is not enabled on the STB with a definite "no plans to do this" answer.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION