Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    No Internet for SkyBox

    This is a discussion on No Internet for SkyBox within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My SkyHD box is telling me it has no internet connection, I am only on the everyday lite package and ...

    1. #1
      shake's Avatar
      shake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Internet for SkyBox

      My SkyHD box is telling me it has no internet connection, I am only on the everyday lite package and I am sure we had a connection before the latest "upgrade" to the system last week.

      The skybox is connected with the supplied yellow cable to the yellow socket in the router. My TV is also connected to the router and works fine. My laptop connects wirelessly with the router with no problems and my desktop connects with the router via a couple of home plugs.

      I have tried in the settings to search for a network using the reset option but no network can be found. I did briefly look at the manual set up option but I have not a clue regarding the IP DNS etc so I did not try this any further.

      Thanks in advance for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      If you want to set it up manually use these settings
      IP Address............192.168.0.100
      Subnet.................255.255.255.0
      Gateway Router.....192.168.0.1
      DNS.....................90.207.238.97
      Press the Green button to Save.

      Before you do this try putting the box into Standby for a couple of minutes the switch the power off. Leave it for a couple of minutes and switch the power on, after a couple of minutes, press the Sky button to switch on. Check the Network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      At the moment the SkyHD STB won't gain anything from being connected to the Internet.

      It is hopped that when Sky add the much rumoured feature to allow it to access the planner on your Sky+ HD STB that it will be able to do a lot more.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      I am assuming that he has a Sky+HD box and can get access to Anytime+ if it is working properly

      I don't think the plain Sky HD boxes have had an upgrade, hence my thought.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (18-07-12)

    7. #5
      shake's Avatar
      shake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      Sorry to confuse. It is a sky plus HD Box.

      Thanks for the numbers i will try them out after eating my sausage butty.

    8. #6
      shake's Avatar
      shake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      Just tried the numbers and still no luck (triple checked that I entered the figures right)

      Still get message saying Local network not found. press backup. I then get a screen which says

      Local Connection Fail
      Service connection Fail
      IP 0.0.0.0
      DHCP Off

      This is all because my missus missed Strike Back Project dawn and wants to watch it on the Anytime+

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      Us women can be very demanding

      It looks like the lead isn't making a good connection with the router. When you plug it is, does the corresponding LED illuminate on the router?

      Also do you have another Ethernet cable to hand which you can try?

      This piece may sound a little daft too, but can you double check that Ethernet cable is still plugged into the Ethernet port on the back of the STB too?

      No Internet for SkyBox-amstrad-drx890-rear.jpg

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #8
      shake's Avatar
      shake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      I have tried the manual entry, tried swithching the box off and on, tried swithching the router off and on, swapped the TV ethernet cable with the sky one - sky still no go but TV internet is OK with both cables. Checked my account with Sky which states anytime+ is activated.

      Before the "guide upgrade" I was getting anytime+ which was showing up as little thumbnail type pictures in the anytime+ guide. Now I just get a message stating that the Sky+HD box cannot connect to the router.

    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      It is possible your upgrade download has become corrupted. You could try downloading fresh software. To do this, go into standby, switch the power to the box off, hold down the Backup button on top of the box and switch the power back on. Keep holding the button until the lights on the front come on, when they do let go. Allow the box to update, about 15-20 minutes. When it completes it will go to Standby, give it another 2 or 3 minutes then press the Sky button on the remote.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #10
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: No Internet for SkyBox

      The Sky forum has run a thread for a long time Sky Help Forum - Anytime plus added to my portfolio, but still not ... - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum with people suffering the IP 0.0.0.0 problem. Lots of potential answers but one that caught my eye was:

      "I now believe that the problem was created by plugging the ethernet cable into position 2 of the router whilst leaving an unconnected 'old' cable plugged into position 1 dangling without the other end connected anywhere !

      just shouldn;t have left it there............."

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION